Gardening makes me squat

August 25, 2022

Gardening is one of the best natural exercise. It allows your body to move and allows your body to be with the ground and with the nature.

IMG_20220825_202711.jpg

My parents didn't own a farm lot but my father is a farmer who plants his crop in the vacant land beside a creek. He planted different fruit trees that even he is already gone, we, his children are still enjoying harvesting its fruit.

I grow doing stuff in the farm like planting, weeding, harvesting and I used to climb fruit trees before to harvest some fruits to be sold in the market, in school or just even in our Barangay.

So, even when I got married and become a mother, the want to plant some crops is still in me. So, I and my husband are still enjoying gardening if we have a vacant time.

There is a home lot which is still vacant because we are still paying it monthly for five years. We thought to plant something in it so the land wouldn't be empty.

Last Monday, my husband provided some sticks of cassava to be planted there but we were not able to go there because they have an emergency meeting but they were not able to have a meeting because the heavy rain falls. In Tuesday the meeting was still cancelled and on Wednesday we were not able to go to the lot because the rain seems coming.

Fortunately this afternoon (Thursday), the weather is so good because the sun is shining brightly and there is no signs of rain so we decided to plant it.

IMG20220825173349.jpg

Since we have a limited time to be there, we just clean a particular portion of the land where we will plant the cassava and we will go back again soon to remove the weeds.


I found the ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY CHALLENGE #21, WHERE DO YOU SQUAT? initiated by @justinparke and I decided to participate.

Where do you squat?

I remember when I was still young we used to squat in the comfort room and for sure you understand what I mean. During those days, bowl or toilet receptacles for the comfort room is not yet available or just we cannot afford it. The one that we have is you really need ro squat.

When we were in the farm or in the field and we can feel that nature is calling us, we will just go somewhere, squat and releases what is about to go out. That's a farm life, lol. I also remember my siblings who will climb a tree, and will squat there and yes! you're thinking might be right, lol. (I am smiling while writing this one, remembering my childhood days, lol.)

IMG_20220825_202751.jpg

Just this afternoon I squat while cleaning the Durian and Sour soup trees planted by my husband in the lot. We are trying to take care of it even the animals in the neighborhood eat it. We felt so sad the last time we visited the lot as we saw some plants died and other was damaged by the animals (probably cow and goats who are visible around).

IMG20220825173513.jpg

I also squat while cleaning some spot of the ground and then planting cassava while my husband is cleaning some banana trees. My son distributed the cassava sticks in the hole so it will be ready for me to plant.

Gardening is our simple way of family bonding and a natural act of exercising.

Please bare with the photos because I have my four year old son as my photographer. He is still good in capturing it right?


Thank you so much @asean.hive and @justinparke for this weekly challenge - Where do you squat? Thanks also to @melinda010100 for sponsoring this challenge.

All photos are mine.


Live. Laugh. Love.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency