Try as I may, I can't find decent pork belly in this city (Da Nang, Vietnam)

Pork belly cooked Korean style (whatever that means) is one of my favorite things to eat. The combination of flavors and garlic and of course a nice hunk of fat on a piece of pork belly is really so much better than basically most everything else in the world.

That being said, I am completely incapable of finding a good piece of it here in Vietnam and even less capable of cooking it. This makes very little sense to me because before Covid shut everything down, there were dozens of Korean restaurants in this area as they constituted a large portion of our overall tourism here. I can't imagine that this nationality, who likely has the best pork belly in the world, would be willing to tolerate such garbage cuts of meat.


src

Oh wow, that looks amazing! Too bad that is not what I ended up with at all. I actually even went to a high-priced butcher to get my cuts of meat as well and they went in the back with their magic knives in order to slice up the pork belly that I purchased. I don't know if you are aware of this but pork belly is VERY difficult to cut using your run-of-the-mill knife.

Here is what my end result was

127023427_706417046647921_1334346112890453030_n.jpg

To be fair to pigs and also to the place that I bought this cut of meat from... I have almost no idea what I am doing in the kitchen but i do know how to make a pan hot and I know how to slice garlic. Of course I found out once I was already cooking the pork belly that I am out of garlic and also the chili paste that is essential to making the korean sauce had turned to cement because it has been in my fridge for a year or so.

This is what you get in the end. At the end of it all the neighbor's dog ended up eating more of it than I did and it was disgusting.

We can't blame it entirely on my lack of culinary skills although that certainly is a factor in the process. I have been to several Korean BBQ restaurants in the area and all of them have been pretty substandard as well.

I needed food so I went on a bike ride to Lotte Mart and had a KFC while i was there. It tasted like what you would expect from KFC. Nothing special, but not bad.

Then i went upstairs to find some socks and then encountered this shirt along the way.

126286349_814849399084957_8084468185504519699_n.jpg

I didn't buy this shirt even though I really wanted to because I do enjoy when Asian countries try so hard to have english expressions on shirts and ALMOST get it right. This would have been one of those examples. I can't remember the last time I choise a friend, but it hasn't been recently.

I do however feel as though the sentiment behind the intended statement is true. As someone that has a very small family, I do feel as though my friends are my family and it looks like it might be that way well into the future.

That was my day... a bunch of failures with a little bit of funny mixed in. I hope yours was at least as good

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency