Capu's: A new restaurant with a odd collection of items

Personally, I can't believe that anyone is opening new restaurants right now when the gates to Vietnam are well and truly shut and no one who leaves will be allowed back in for the foreseeable future. I would suppose these new restaurant owners have t heir reasons for opening during these trying times and I wish them the best. I supported them a few times already and the food is ok, nothing particularly special but the prices are fair.

I can't really imagine they are making any money and both times that I have gone there my table was the only table with customers at it in the joint at all. So that can't be good and is probably frustrating to the owner(s) who obviously dropped a bunch of money on building the place since prior to them putting it here, the space was a vacant lot.


Untitled.png

The major problem that this place is going to face is that they lack any sort of distinction. This is a problem all over Vietnam and the reason why these sorts of places go in and out of business on a regular basis. The problem is that their menu has nothing special on it. I'm not saying that it isn't any good (I really enjoyed what I ordered) it's just that the menu, while a well produced document, features essentially exactly the same stuff on it that every other place in town does. This consists of burgers, pizzas, a few steak and fish items, and of course Vietnamese soups. Oh they are also a coffee shop but let me tell you about Vietnam and coffeeshops: There are at least 4 coffeeshops per city block anywhere populated in the country. So that isn't going to impress anyone.


Untitled.png

Their furniture might appeal to some people out there that appreciate the perhaps artistic or antique looking nature of the chairs but for me it just seems like a mish-mash of crap furniture and all of it was uncomfortable. Who TF wants to sit on a wooden sofa that has been turned into a swing?

There were random collections of other junk and this stuff I actually appreciated


173227668_461332415137705_4333119003037005554_n.jpg

If you are over the age of 35 or so, there is a really good chance that you owned one of these, or at least something like them. Ah, nostalgia, back in the good ol days of dubbing cassettes!

Upstairs, which was an area I can't really imagine them ever needing since the ground floor has never had more than one table in it at a time, is considerably nicer than downstairs and honestly, they should have done these sections in reverse. The upstairs is air conditioned, has matching furniture, and has a cool collection of stuff on the walls as well.


174500076_792577234709833_6361967740866190711_n.jpg

Now I, like most Americans, am not a fan of soccer. But I am also a "live and let live" type of person and can appreciate the fact that the owner of this place must be a huge fan and he had a nice collection of championship photos of Man U over the years.


173323420_912937556224497_7745239798225459469_n.jpg

He also seems to be a fan of Americana as there were loads of old timey tin signs and license plates on the walls. I doubt these are genuine because these sorts of items are seen all over south east Asia and it just seems unlikely to me that everyone had access to gasoline advertisements from the 50's.

Now let's get into the food: I ordered the salmon because I needed some protein in my day


172502981_1353590521675733_8520752534501875108_n.jpg

Everything tasted great and the only problem I had with it was the fact that the mashed potatoes were cold. This means that the guy upstairs (and their kitchen is upstairs, which is weird) clearly plated the potatoes before the rest of the food was done. This is kitchen management 101 and was a massive fail on their part. They also tried to be overly artistic with the presentation and I am always a bit leery of this in lower end establishments because it means that someone put their hands all over your food and I am not really a fan of that.

Anyway, it tasted great and I didn't get food poisoning so these are two big plusses. Also at 175,000 VND (appx $6.50) it was a tremendous value. I would definitely return but maybe speak to the owner about the cold mashed potatoes. Who knows, maybe all of their mashed potatoes are cold because no one makes them from scratch when you order and I wouldn't want them to anyway... can you imagine how long that would take?

Mostly I feel as though Capu's is worth visiting but ultimately the menu there just isn't unusual or varied enough to set it apart from the dozens of other restaurants that are in the immediate vicinity of An Thuong, Da Nang. Honestly, I would be surprised if it is still there this time next year unless the owner of the restaurant / bar purchased the land. There is no way that the 12 or so customers that he is getting per day is actually paying the rent.

If you would like to visit Capu's (and I think you should at least once) you can find them here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency