My go-to pick at a Teochew-style food place

Whenever I go to a buffet, there's always one section I will focus on, it's the seafood section. It's the type of food that I could eat more than the other types. And then the net one will be the dessert section. It goes the same with a Teochew-style mixed veggie rice stall, I'm more interested in the seafood dishes that are offered rather than the other meat dishes. It may have the highest cost but it's the one that I find to be the most valuable. I'm more than willing to spend an extra S$2 to S$3 for it.

Aside from seafood, there's another type of food that I grew to like ever since I settled here in Singapore. These are tofu dishes and vegetable soup, I think they make it extra special so I have become a fan of these types of dishes.

There's a memorable lunch experience that I had in a popular Teochew-style food place where I had the pleasure to eat a nice braised tofu skin, soy-braised chicken, and a bowl of pork ribs with carrot & radish soup.

A tofu skin dish is something that I find weird at first but then after my first try, it has become one of my favorite dishes to date. It is high in protein but it has very little fat and calories in it. For me, that makes it a superfood!

What's not to like about a dish of soy-braised chicken? Soy sauce is one of my favorite condiments because it works well with every protein and it has so many uses when it comes to cooking.

And then the vegetable soup. To describe a Teochew-style vegetable soup, it's subtle and it tastes nutritious. I like the hint of seafood in it because of the dried shrimp that was mixed into it while it was boiling. The sweetness of the carrots has made the soup irresistibly delicious.

A Teochew-style food place has never failed to catch my attention whenever I'm craving a fast and bountiful serving of delicious food. The method of ordering is uniquely Asean as well, pick the dishes and they will serve it in a dish with the rest of the dishes you order.

This kind of food place will never fail to satisfy my cravings and appetite.

See you!


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency