Dear You,

Blue Monotone Minimalist ConflictDisplacement Crisis Hub Twitter Post.png

Dear You,

Hi, Darling! Have you been well? 

I heard you are struggling with your dreams right now and are confused about your path. To start my letter, if you are happy and this venture makes you excited and contented, your decisions are correct. On the other side, if you're doubtful and make you think you are not doing enough, it's a sign to change your plan and retain your goals. 

You see, university life itself is a hideous, roller-coaster ride journey. Along the way, we'll meet people who will teach us to be brave. Though, acquiring such a phase will let us pass through various series of ups and downs. We'll experience all the struggles and hurdles and believe in the process; those are what it takes to dream. 

When I'm in my 2nd year as a university student, I met a teacher who almost became the reason to end my dreams. Those times that I am still immature and close-minded, unable to process harsh words. She branded me as someone I am not. I got traumatized. I blamed myself for not being enough, for not trying my very best. I've got what-ifs, and self-defeating thoughts came making me close doors in opportunities and such. That time, I went home to our province for Christmas break. I soared 3 (three) universities so that I could transfer school until I reached the final university and met a teacher who told me, "Go back. You fought your spot to be in that school for the longest time possible while others came here, failing the program. Gather your thoughts and make those harsh words be your vessel. Don't let anyone brand you for who you are not." Those words, when I heard it, and up until now when it keeps going in my mind, still made me tear up. Because this teacher, who I met for the first time, see through me. He saw the struggles and the sacrifices I've undergone to be in my dream university. After the break, I return to school and continue enrolling in my current university. I did slowly turn those harsh words into my driving force to sail forward. It made me braver, stronger, and shamefully firm in my thoughts. 

Though, in dreaming, when one hurdle is done, some come all the way to shake you a little. When I proved that I could keep up with university life came my relatives and a few high school teachers who expressed their opinionated views such as, I won't make it since it's too expensive for us to take. I mean, those kinds of words did impact me a little, but I worry less. Dreaming and setting up goals high does not include having them on my list. I did thank their existence for being the medium for me to be brave, but I won't tolerate words that will confuse me again. 

Challenges are thrown to us since it is meant to make us grow individually, and mentally. As of now, I know you are struggling, but it does not mean the things I went through are comparable to those you are currently undergoing. I am trying to say is that be bold enough to admit you can't make it and seek help. Always surround yourself with people who support and believe in you.

Darling, I know you are a dreamer, and just like me, you have high hopes and plans in mind. However, you didn't become who you are to let someone brand you as a defeated contender. Gather all experiences you've undergone and get back to your feet with a stronger mindset. Just like how my mother taught me about failures and success, "It's not about how we started the fight, but how are we going to finish it."

Darling, be ambitious enough. Soar high and spread your wings. Let yourself fall on the horizon of possibilities for good things await those who are patient. Always remember to be you. Become the dreamer you are today, and become the achiever you are tomorrow. You are doing well! Tighten your grasp, and  I appreciate you for keeping up so well. 
I hit rock bottom before, and it made me open my eyes to reality and fight eagerly. You'll do well too. 

Rooting for your future endeavor,

Untitled design (2).png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency