GARDENING UPDATE: The weekend before my long project in the harbor 9/11/2022

Good day to all my Hive friends and especially all my Gardening enthusiasts! I've brought you another update in sunny South Africa in Cape Town.

I am currently doing a big project in the harbour that sees me working 12 hour shifts from 7am till 7pm (and sometimes longer still) and thus I knew I needed to prepare my gardening work for the weekend as I was not going to get another chance like that in a while again!

I am not going to make this too long, let me show you what we did. Myself and the boys - @merenludick and @matthew-williams did a whole lot of gardening work together and we got quite a lot done!

Let's show and tell!

The tomatoes and the attending herbs are doing great in the little box. I need to consider if I should give these tomatoes some extra support due to all the wind that we have been having.

Some of the tomato plants already have little flowers so it looks very certain that I shall have tomatoes soon!

I have been diligently watering my patches, on the far side you can see I got more wood to build a fence with. One problem that I will be having in this veggie patch is sunlight and the trees are overgrowing the garden. So I decided to open things up a bit!

Another angle of the veggies.

The main tree of the yard has also slowly been drooping downward as it was a year ago when we moved in and I trimmed it back. Time to do so again!

A Before pic.

Another before trim pic.

After the trim. Cut this tree way back from the veggie garden as well as the electric fencing. Still plenty to do though...

I trimmed this guy back a lot and now it does not overhang the future veggie garden at all.

Another angle and you can see the work done and the extra sunlight!

In the compost area, @matthew-williams helped putting most of the branches and leaves in the back. We will be chopping it up before adding it to the compost pile!

Such a wealth of biomass to convert into garden compost!

I hope this ship does not take too long. I wake up early and give all the veggies and herbs some water each morning. Other than that I cannot do too much else.

Let's see how they do.

Until next time...

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency