Gardening - Some success with my cucurbit! Is this butternut Squash?!

Hello everyone! Zak here from Cape Town, South Africa. Welcome to my little gardening update.

I have had some good success with the pumpkin-ish thing that has been growing in my raised bed. It is obvious that this thing is some sort of cucurbit and probably a squash. The money is currently on it being a gem-squash!

After the first few "fruits" dying on the ground I learned that it must be strung upwards. You can also put stuff on the ground to protect the fruits that grow.

Take a look at how its doing!


Big healthy leaves, despite all the wind we have been having. Extra fertilizer and lots of water is needed!


Look at the back there! A really big one is growing!


I installed a second trellis to manage the shoots coming through this side of the box.


Well grown and over grown!


It grows out of the one side, across a pallet and up on to the veggie garden fence. As it grows I am weaving it through the slats of the fence.

Here we see some some more fruits on the green trellis.

From another angle.

So I shall just keep feeding this plant and hopefully I will have some nice Squash for the kitchen!

Thank you for reading!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency