an easy way to multiply turmeric plants (Curcuma longa)

Happy weekend friends, today is Sunday and that means I can channel my gardening hobby, because Monday to Friday I have to work teaching.
Today I will share the experience of multiplying turmeric plants.Turmeric is one of the herbs that has many health benefits such as treating stomach ulcers, treating sore eyes, overcoming menstrual pain, treating eczema and itching on the skin and many more benefits of turmeric for health and beauty.

IMG20220423090248.jpg

Three months ago, I planted turmeric in a fruit basket, but it didn't seem to work as I expected, because my pet chickens often lay eggs in the basket which contained turmeric plants and made the growth of my turmeric plant not optimal.

IMG20220423083705.jpg

The turmeric plant is still in the same family as the ginger plant, but the way to plant and reproduce the turmeric plant is different from the ginger plant. to multiply ginger plants, I usually only plant one segment of ginger for one planting hole, but to multiply turmeric plants, I use several segments of turmeric for one planting hole.

IMG20220423085616.jpg

I will start removing the turmeric plant from the basket, I have to be careful so that the turmeric rhizome doesn't break with the hoe. I will hoe around the turmeric rhizome to get the turmeric, I use a small hoe carefully so that the turmeric rhizome is not exposed to the hoe.

IMG20220423083841.jpg

wow amazing, I didn't expect to get this much turmeric rhizome, I'll move it soon so it doesn't wilt.

IMG_20220423_100426.jpg

I will make a hole, the hole doesn't need to be too deep, only about 7 centimeters.

IMG20220423085424.jpg

I only made six holes, because I just harvested the turmeric rhizome from one small basket.

how to plant it, first I will separate the turmeric rhizome that already has leaves from the turmeric rhizome that does not yet have leaves.

IMG20220423090126.jpg

IMG20220423084005.jpg

the second, I will mix one turmeric rhizome that already has leaves with a turmeric rhizome that has no leaves.

IMG20220423085657.jpg

I will start planting it, I mix the leafy turmeric plant with the leafless turmeric plant for optimal growth.You can see I planted many turmeric rhizomes in one hole.it looks like the holes I made are still lacking, I will make five more holes to plant the turmeric.

IMG20220423085711.jpg

The best time to transfer the turmeric from one container to another is in the morning or evening.

Now I have 12 new turmeric plants, I plant them in the morning and I will water them in the afternoon, because the soil where I plant turmeric is quite moist, if I water it now, I am worried that the turmeric rhizomes will rot,but if the soil we use to plant turmeric is dry, we can water it immediately after we plant it.

IMG20220423090929.jpg

TIPS :
if the turmeric rhizome has started to sprout like this, we should plant the part of the shoot facing up, so that its growth is optimal.

IMG_20220423_100509.jpg

I don't cover the part that sprouts with soil, I let it sprout above the soil surface.

IMG20220423090339.jpg

that's how I plant and reproduce turmeric plants, next time I will share how to plant and move Curcuma plants, I hope my tips are useful for herbal lovers friends.

Best Regards
@umirais

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency