Waiting for my Cherry Tomatoes [Eng/Esp]

Sowing a seed and waiting for it to grow into a beautiful plant, then its blossoming and finally its fruits is a matter of time and patience and I must confess in all honesty that patience is not one of my many virtues!

Happy #hivegarden day friends, I hope you had a wonderful week and that all your plants are growing beautifully away from pests. On my side of the world we are happy for the arrival of December, especially because it is the only time of the year where we say goodbye to the heat that this 2022 in Isla Margarita was terrible, but if we run with luck we will be until February with a more pleasant weather.

Today I wanted to share with you the third report of my cherry tomato plants that for the previous POST

had already begun to bloom and during these two weeks were covered with beautiful yellow buds, including the one that suffered a little accident in the hands of my son, who began to show their flowers like the others.

And I must confess that I am just an amateur in this whole world of gardening and although many times I planted peppers, tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers in a satisfactory way cherry tomatoes have always cost me a lot, in fact I have not managed to harvest and I fear that this may happen again, because although the four plants have bloomed and the two largest are covered with flowers and buds, their flowers have begun to die without bearing fruit.

The truth is that I do not know if it is something normal, but with the other plants in their first flowering I managed to harvest their fruits, but with these I feel quite sad, because I was very excited to see so many flowers on the plants, but to see how they wither without bearing fruit is something I did not expect and I hope it will change very soon.



img_0.5384825993128434.jpg


img_0.5920024727000205.jpg



As for their general appearance the four look very healthy and have grown a lot, something you can notice in the before and after and is that not only are taller, but its trunk is thicker and its foliage and new leaves are abundant and even have bloomed a lot but everything has remained there, the flowers open and a few days later begin to wither and at the base where they are born, the twig turns yellow indicating that it will not bear fruit.

At first I took it calmly because not all the flowers manage to bear fruit and many times the first ones don't either, but I have seen how progressively the same thing happens with all of them and I don't know if it is normal or if there is something I am not doing right in spite of looking super healthy.

My son Matías, who planted them, says that they must be pollinated as it happens with some plants like the patilla, melon and other species that need insects like bees to do it, but the truth is that not knowing how is the process with cherry tomato plants I had to investigate because impatience and a little sadness took over me. Especially seeing so many flowers die.


img_0.46931763946104454.jpg


So I was researching and indeed my son was right, flowers need to be pollinated by insects in order to bear fruit and unfortunately I haven't seen any kind of insects hanging around the flowers, so I kept researching and read about hand fertilization and how I could do it at home, so after reading a bit I decided on a technique that consisted of giving little taps to the twigs that the flowers have so that we can simulate the movement of the insects when taking the pollen from the flowers.

And unlike the cherry tomato for example, the cherry tomato does not have a female flower and a male flower, but in a flower are the two reproductive organs, so the manual process is much simpler, because just move them a little could achieve fertilization and of course I tried and now I'm waiting for results.


img_0.5729375088582725.jpg


So after all, there is nothing left but to keep taking care of them and wait for the fruits to come in due time. For now, seeing them grow so beautifully makes me happy, I just need the salad! But that's still a while away, so I will continue to exercise my patience while keeping a careful eye on them and keeping pests away from them.

Luckily being in the window they are not being affected by the constant rains that have been falling on the Island, which is fatal for tomato plants. So the sweet wait continues, praying that for the next report I can come with nice pictures of little red buttons adorning my beautiful cherry tomato plants.

So for today I say goodbye, not with the news I expected for this third report but hoping that in the next one I can bring great news.

Have a great weekend. Kisses and blessings.




ESPAÑOL



Sembrar una semilla y esperar su crecimientos hasta verla convertida en una hermosa planta, luego su florecimiento y finalmente sus frutos es cuestión de tiempo y paciencia y debo confesar con toda honestidad que la paciencia no es una de mis muchas virtudes!

img_0.7885690864482754.jpg

Feliz día amigos de #hivegarden, espero hayan tenido una semana maravillosa y que todas sus plantas estén creciendo hermosas alejadas de las plagas. En mi lado del mundo estamos felices por la llegada del mes de Diciembre, sobre todo porque es la única época del año donde nos despedimos del calor que éste 2022 en Isla Margarita estuvo terrible, pero si corremos con suerte estaremos hasta febrero con un clima más placentero.

Hoy quise compartir con ustedes el tercer reporte de mis plantas de tomate cherry que para el POST anterior ya habían comenzado a florecer y durante estas dos semanas se cubrieron de hermosos botones amarillos, incluyendo la que sufrió un pequeño accidente en manos de mi hijo, quien comenzó a mostrar sus flores al igual que las demás.

Y debo confesar que soy sólo una aficionada en todo este mundo de la jardinería y aunque muchas veces sembré pimentones, tomates, ajies y pepinos de manera satisfactoria los tomates cherry siempre me han costado mucho, de hecho no he logrado cosechar y me temo que ésto pueda volver a suceder, porque aunque las cuatro plantas han florecido y las dos más grandes están cubiertas de flores y capullos, sus flores han comenzado a morir sin dar frutos.

La verdad no sé si es algo normal, pero con las otras plantas en su primera floración lograba cosechar sus frutos, pero con éstas me siento bastante triste, ya que estaba muy emocionada al ver tantas flores en las plantas, pero ver cómo se marchitan sin dar fruto es algo que no esperaba y que deseo cambie muy pronto.



img_0.5384825993128434.jpg


img_0.5920024727000205.jpg



En cuanto a su aspecto general las cuatro se ven muy sanas y han crecido muchísimo, cosa que pueden notar en el antes y después y es que no sólo están más altas, sino que su tronco es más grueso y su follaje y hojas nuevas son abundantes e incluso han florecido muchísimo pero todo ha quedado ahí, las flores abren y a los días comienzan a marchitarse y en la base de donde nacen, la ramita se torna amarilla indicando que no dará fruto.

En un principio lo tomé con calma pues no todas las flores logran dar fruto y muchas veces las primeras tampoco lo hacen, pero he visto cómo progresivamente sucede lo mismo con todas y no sé si sea normal o hay algo que no esté haciendo bien a pesar de lucir súper sanas.

Mi hijo Matías quien las sembró dice que deben ser polinizadas como ocurre con algunas plantas como la patilla, el melón y otras otras especies que necesitan de insectos como las abejas para ello, pero la verdad al no saber cómo es el proceso con las plantas de tomate cherry tuve que dedicarme a investigar ya que la impaciencia y un poco de tristeza se apoderaban de mí. Sobre todo al ver tantas flores morir.


img_0.46931763946104454.jpg


Así que estuve investigando y efectivamente mi hijo tenía razón, las flores necesitan ser polinizadas por los insectos para poder dar fruto y lamentablemente no he visto ningún tipo de insectos rondando las flores, por lo que seguí investigando y leí sobre la fertilización manual y cómo podía hacerlo en casa, así que después de leer un poco me decidí por una técnica que consistía en dar pequeños golpecitos a las ramitas que tienen las flores de manera que podamos simular el movimiento de los insectos al tomar el pólen de las flores.

Y a diferencia de la patilla por ejemplo, el tomate cherry no tiene una flor hembra y una flor macho, sino que en una flor están los dos órganos reproductores, por lo que el proceso manual es mucho más sencillo, ya que con sólo moverlas un poco se podría lograr la fecundación y por supuesto hice el intento y ahora estoy a la espera de resultados.


img_0.5729375088582725.jpg


Así que después de todo, no queda más que seguir cuidando de ellas y esperar que los frutos lleguen en su momento. Por lo pronto, ver que crecen así de bonitas me hace feliz, sólo me falta la ensalada! Pero para eso aún falta un poco, así que continuaré ejercitando mi paciencia mientras las vigilo cuidadosamente alejando las plagas de ellas.

Por suerte al estar en la ventana no están siendo afectadas por las lluvias constantes que han estado cayendo en la Isla, lo que es fatal para las plantas de tomate. Así que la dulce espera continúa, rogando que para el próximo reporte pueda venir con lindas fotos de botoncitos rojos adornandos mis hermosas plantas de tomate cherry.

Así que por hoy me despido, no con las noticias que esperaba para éste tercer reporte pero confiando que en el próximo pueda traer grandes noticias.

Que tengan un excelente fin de semana. Besitos y bendiciones!.

img_0.731116121583772.jpg

Fotografía por:| Photography by:
@rlathulerie, Samsung Galaxy M12


Edición por:| Edtion by:
@rlathulerie on Canva


Traducido con:| Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency