Garden Journal Early October: What's Been Happening in Our Hive Gardens [Plus, the Famous Garden Selfie Wall]

There's a bit of sadness for me this October as I know the northern hemisphere garden journals we've come to know and love will be thin on the ground as the weather gets colder and people aren't as active in their gardens. Still, here's hoping for indoor gardening posts or even 'advice' and 'how to' posts that maybe no one had time to write in the busy gardening season. And for you southern hemisphere gardeners, I'm expecting you to hold the garden fort and post away over the summer months so we can reverse the trend and make everyone jealous with our amazing gardens.

image.png

@amberyooper reflected on the mildness of the fall as he tidies up the crops and picks the last of the tomatoes. I'm sure @thebigsweed would be jealous of his carrots! Interesting fact? Apparently borage is a good companion plant for tomatoes! Thanks for that one Amber!

image.png

@proto26 is also wrapping up his garden. I love the thought of him munching on cherry tomatoes and raspberries along with the spiders. He also got his first ever crop of goji berries! Did you catch how many? What a bounty! :P He's also into bonsai, so I imagine he'll be giving @creativetruth a run for his money!

image.png

@owasco has finally moved into her new garden! How exciting! Go check out her new digs [here[(@owasco/the-new-digs) - all that potential!

image.png

Sadly for @sanjeevm, the weather has spoiled things somewhat, making it difficult to get the flowers he wanted.

It's disappointing, but that is what Nature is - we never can plan for the unseen events. The best we can do is build continuously. If it works then good.

Still, like most of us, he finds the effort worth it as it relieves stress and brings him peace.

@luckylaica talks about her garden passion, but also makes clear that she grows food to feed her family as a necessity. I have so much admiration for the green thumbs are amongst us that are capable of nurturing gardens to put food on the table - I worry I'd starve! Pawpaws, water spinach, pineapple and coconut grace her garden. She also provided a beautiful selfie - how's that smile! She's harvesting lady finger eggplants just as I sow them. Thankyou so much for sharing, Laica.


image.png

It's harvest time in gorgeous @fanyokami's garden as well, with cassava, coconut, and passionfruit. Like many in that part of the world, it's harvest and clean up time! She also included a selfie, but what I totally appreciated was her gardener's hand shot. I bet we all know what that feels like, right?


image.png

@thebigsweed philosophised about the value of sitting together and sharing a meal, something that we seem to have lost. You have to read his post to see what peas have to do with his relationship - it's a very sweet story about family, food gardens, and sharing meals. Oh, and look at all that amazing beetroot in a raised garden! Can you spot @thebigsweed in the selfie wall for this week? The fact he's holding a big beet is a dead giveway.

image.png

Edward Snipperhands aka @edprivat didn't smoke (much) chicken poo and got on with trimming vines and entertaining us with the trials of cleaning up chicken poo, which only us homesteady chickeny garden types are remotely - remotely - interested in. He again reminded me of why we do this stuff - if the world gets worse (god forbid) at least we know how to grow potatoes. Thankyou, Ed, for providing the most entertaining gifs.

@hexagono6 posted her first #gardenjournal post, writing about helping someone else start a garden. Anyway we can get involved in the gardening world is awesome, right?

@nikv is struggling with cats this time who seem to foil her gardening efforts. I loved the way she forms a cactus moat around her silverbeet!! I'm not sure why this happened, but it's sideways - it wasn't in the original post. Just put your head to one side.

image.png

And here's the selfie wall for October! I do need to re do the selfie wall so all the previous ones somehow fit in (maybe a big Christmas gardener selfie special?) but I've been so ridiculously busy in my own garden that this post is two days late! Rest assured it's coming, and I hope everyone got their selfie HIVE tip! I hope I didn't miss anyone - pop your selfie below if I did and I'll add you to the main wall for next time. And I hope I didn't miss anyone's posts either - honestly, I'm covered in dirt as I write this and my husband is yelling at me to come and give him a hand in the garden!!! It's nice yelling, but I must be off!


image.png

Without further ado, the winners....

@thebigsweed, because that's an awesome selfie you can't possibly beet (boom) and your story of love and peas was just lovely! 10 HIVE coming your way...

@luckylaica, because it was her first time posting in the community and she did a fabulous job! 10 HIVE coming your way.

@kennyroy for your fabulous pumpkin selfie and consistent posting under the #gardenjournal tag on HIVE!

Thanks to ALL who entered - you truly make HIVE special with your garden contributions and I honestly don't think it'd be the same place without you. If you're finding it hard to post or think you don't have anything of value to add, just do it anyway - we all truly love gardens and we really love every single post under the #gardenjournal tag! And if you have a little HIVE to spare, please delegation to @gardenhive, as it means your vote will be supporting #garden posts on HIVE. Much LOVE, and of course....

Happy Gardening!!!!

untitled.gif

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency