Gardening Season 2022 - First cherry harvest

Hello everyone and welcome to another garden update! It's already second half of May and things are looking good so, as always, I am excited to share what has been going on since last garden post...


20220519_111955.jpg

Garden overview


1.jpg

I had to google how these types of cherries are called in English - in Serbian we have a different name for these kinds and a different name for "regular" cherries. Looks like in the US these are called rainier cherries and they are some of my favorite fruits! This season they are doing so well in our garden on one big tree as you can see from today's harvest but other big tree is a fail this year. Still, we have a lot to eat every day so I can't complain.


It was very sunny when I took this photo of the rainier cherry tree but you can see there's a lot of them left. White bucket is a daily harvest, me and my family can pretty much finish that all in one day, lol. They are so sweet, I don't really feel the urge to eat artificial sweets...


Apples and peaches - even though the growth is very settle, I am noticing it. :D One of the amazing things about gardening is being able to notice every change and detail, witness the beauty of nature in the most rewarding way.


Same with pears and plums! I hope we'll have enough plums for jam this year as I don't think we will make rakija (traditional Serbian alcohol drink) but hey, who knows... I'll keep you updated!


I am noticing more blackberries forming which is nice! We trimmed some overgrown parts but there's a couple left that I saw today, trimming and removing old/dried parts is good for fruits and berries. There's always a few strawberries that are ripe enough and ready for daily harvest, if we get more than that, they will go in the freezer.


Raspberries and chokeberries are also looking good, I am pretty sure we will have a decent amount of raspberries to freeze for winter months.


Next we have some cabbage and plenty of tomatoes that started to form their yellow flowers. We eat a lot of tomatoes and also make tomato juice so we always make sure to leave enough space for tomatoes in our garden.

The biggest portion of the garden is taken by potatoes and we are very happy with how it looks so far. We also planted some climbing beans, there's usually a very small harvest of them but we'll see if this year we can get some more.


On the other hand, onions and peas are doing great so far! We definitely planted peas way too close but it doesn't really matter as long as it gives us a lot of produce.


Chard, spinach and salad area is doing well, we have been eating a lot of salad lately which I am loving! Zucchini never fails and after the original plan of two smaller rows, we added some more.

Back to fruits, we have figs and grapes, both growing nicely and both are promising a successful season.


Here I was trying to take a photo of a baby hazelnut but I'm not sure if you can notice it, lol. What you can definitely notice is our huge rosemary bush that I tried to clean up a little bit but I'll need to find some gloves to get rid of more grass and cut the dried up branches.

That's all for today's garden update, I hope you enjoyed taking a look inside our garden area and I wish you all an amazing day!


banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency