Gardening Season 2021 - Last summer update (September 18th)

As I was thinking about the title for this post, I quickly realized summer is officially almost over! Wow! Even though we have been experiencing minor weather changes these days, at least in this part of Serbia where I live, it has been warm and sunny these days and today is also one of those nice days. I hope it will stay like that just a little bit longer before the real fall weather comes. :)


We have two areas with grapes - the one on the left is just the same purple grapes (to me it looks like Concord grape) and the ones on the right are from the area that has three different grapes combined, one purple and two whites.


We got the white grapevines from two different people, one already looks like a white table grape and it's really tasty. The ones on these photos looks a little bit smaller so far and I'm not sure what kind of grape this is, to be honest. It doesn't look ripe either so I guess I'll just wait a little bit longer and enjoy the ripe ones in the meantime.


Quince fruits started to fall off the tree and when I finish writing this post, I am going to collect them and set aside so my mom can make a compote out of it, maybe next week. Our one and only apple is getting even more of that nice, red color. I always take a look at it as it's right on my way to the chicken are and garden.


Another task for me, after collecting quince, is to harvest some of the raspberries. Since Covid-19 hit me and my family, we definitely neglected our garden completely so a lot of raspberries are passing by their time but there's always more as the weather has been nice and nights are still not too cold. I also took this close up photo of formed cabbage that has been doing so well (knock on wood). We have another, a lot smaller area with cabbage but those ones get eaten and leaves are full of small holes.


Our corn is all dried up now and you can see a little bit of that smaller cabbage area I mentioned above. Even though the main zucchini season is over successfully - we had so many zucchinis, we could even eat them all, there's still a couple we find every now and then. Sometimes procrastination with cleaning up the garden pays off, lol.


Both spicy and sweet peppers are still doing well. Last time I visited my friend I brought her the spicy ones as she absolutely adores spicy food. I'll definitely bring her more next time I visit her as my dad is actually the only person in my family who can consume these. On the other hand, red sweet peppers we use in a few different ways - I like to mix them with eggs and cherry tomatoes, eat them fresh as part of my lunch or we just mix them with other veggies and rice. We also like to cut them up and freeze so they can be used in winter too.


There wouldn't be a garden update without some of my personal favorites - cherry tomatoes. They are still here and seeing more green ones makes me happy, if weather allows, I think I will get to enjoy them a little bit longer than usual.


To end this post, I am sharing a photo of hazelnuts we have collected so far from our smaller tree as the huge one we have doesn't have any hazelnuts this year. I might check under the smaller tree today to see if there's more to be collected. Finally, we have a funny photo of one of the cats! Cats around here usually doesn't allow anyone to pet them and that was the case with this one too. Recently she started coming up to be and arching her back so I tried to pet her and she allowed me! I am still careful when approaching her but today was one of the days when she came for cuddles again. Then she laid on her back, started to roll around but I was too scared to pet her in that position so I just took a photo and this is the final result, lol.


As we're not having any major changes in our garden lately, I feel like I'm sharing the same things for the most part but at least the photos are updated and "fresh" and I try to find something new to share in each post or just change the perspective of the same fruits/veggies we have. I hope you enjoyed this post, thank you for checking it out! Have a great day everyone!


banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency