Garden Journal Weekly, 20th July 2022

Welcome back to the regular newsletter. Before I continue with some of my favourite highlights, @riverflows has asked me to announce the winners for last week's comment edition. There were lots of great comments and wonderful conversations happening and I think a few of us enjoyed spamming upvotes where we could. Winners had to be picked, though, so congratulations to: 🥁

@proto26 for best comment

and

@fotostef for picking up on ALL the selfies so thoroughly!


My_project_3.jpg

As I settled down for my virtual stroll through Hive Gardens, @sreypov's title on making flower pots caught my eye. I wasn't disappointed when I jumped in to see, either. Forget boring plastic plant pots, these creations are all from natural, salvaged resources and they are striking in their simplicity.
5s4dzRwnVbzGY5ssnCE4wXzkeAEXyVtgk1ApQTwHMTp6y5PvEo1yennCKJr2uwSqL9mF2sH6Mmr9QoPdjR5jY1JnQM14TvxhCGmqFwxzrcykK6yMkgMfS2rm76DmUBYhaj5NUz1CLsCAP8ynsGJaYsTEsMMfmDsmsgztgoQ.jpeg

Next I got to join @generikat and experience an example of a typical morning of chores on the Flicker Haven Farm. It's certainly a busy morning, but I kept getting distracted by the cute animals and gorgeous crops, so I almost missed how efficient she is!

Over at @senorcoconut's he discusses how cut and come again harvesting has been working for him. I love plants you can do this with, as it uses so much more energy to keep growing again from scratch every time you want a meal. I feel like there is less waste this way too.

With @goldenoakfarm you're nearly always going to learn something valuable from what looks like a simple harvest update. This time it was how soil and plant health make the biggest impact on pest resilience. How amazing are these bumper broccoli!

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC7swYYqCn9TZG8p5daw8rBz9bzRShSds4ZDWGCBsMjGJ3rCz6CPRNb3a39N7Cq6h6sG8uwenr5isWT2hYizNkHfwgD4UMiMRWEiSE5Zv6NEo6aqXyx6dt.jpeg

There are so many amazing gardening posts this week that I could spend the day wandering through them all! But I'm going to have to tear myself away and finish on @isdarmady's recent hydropnics update with those lush greens and pristine roots... I'm not even going to attempt to summarise or pretend I know anything about this, so I'll let you visit yourselves and learn from a master.

AmRc67RgYaWTamZtjiRVK9pxDgRdg2RtnXmG5dbeGuzK3WNfkBktwpfdoHJHLnmzcDdg8Cr2yjh7EaC6BnffG3eqLfJPrEcYPry1fRZxnD44yRXSczd9EHWfpW2HpwtaJ6zkvdsALrgaJM2PynS7yaGiW3iHp9BC.jpeg


As always, thank you for joining me and beneficiaries this week will go to @sreypov, @isdarmady and @goldenoakfarm.

HG SMALL.png

GARDENFOOTER.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Join The Hive Garden Community!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency