Our Growing Season is coming to and "END" - Hive Garden Update Sept. 2022

3.jpg

Hello everyone!

There isn't really much to boast about my container garden, as some of you might have read that we had a bad start of Spring this year. All the newbie plants from the garden center were almost devastated when we were visited by one freezing night. That weather affected the growth of all my container plants until now.

8.jpg

One positive thing was that I made the bell pepper harvest over the weekend and although the fruit sizes vary, some are big some are small. I could not wait to have all fruits get red and it's getting chilly at night, so I picked most of the red ones and will wait for 2 weeks more before I finally clear the 2 pepper bushes.

2.jpg

4.jpg

The beefsteak tomatoes are still growing, I have harvested them bountifully and it was the only plant that has huge fruits since I was lucky to have gotten a healthy one after the frosty night.

305554774_639869754119969_5512266638529121789_n.jpg
The cherry tomato harvest were not that much but enough to have them integrated in my green salad.

305993242_3271709749784857_1806812561718084897_n.jpg
Some of the green bell peppers have had sunburn when the temps last month made it between 34°C and 35°C.

6.jpg

As for the blackberries, I think I won't be able to really taste its sweetness. I have only harvested a few black ones but they were really sour. This variety does not have thorns, perhaps its taste got affected by its manipulation. But I am not so sure of that. Maybe I could find some answers the next time I'll be at the garden center.

5.jpg

The eggplant /aubergine was devastated, having plenty of parasites, and I have once told before that all buds fell off to the ground. Now it is thriving and begins to grow fruits, hopefully the fruits will develop before the chilly nights take over.

7.jpg

Lastly, the 2 basil plants recovered and now have plenty of leaves that I can cut and dry. I didn't notice before that they grow white flowers because I always cut the branches for cooking.

And that is for now from my container garden, I hope you all have fine weather for gardening. Until next time, stay safe.... see you around!

All images are owned by the author, @mers

6. GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF courtesy of @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency