First harvest of our children's Veggie Patch


Goooood day Hive Garden I hope you've all had wonderful yield in your gardens ours has been ok although I didn't put too much effort into the first iteration of our garden. Mostly because we had just moved in and the entire focus of planting our veggies was to get the kids active and involved in the learning process of how to grow your own food and where food comes from.

After this crop is all completed I'm going to dig this section up and replace the clay soil with proper garden mix but I'll be filling this area up with a rose garden.

Out of 7 corn plants we've only really had three survive and that's for a few reasons one being the soil quality and the lack of adequate sun along the fence line as this is where the afternoon sun only shines only for a short period of time.

We'll be relocating our veggie garden in the new year in a more sunny part of our garden and utilising some raised garden beds where we can continue to monitor soil quality and water drainage.

Given the soil was mainly clay it didn't provide enough loose soil for the carrots to grow in a straight way and we got these curly carrots as they tried to grow through the path of least resistance.

Not all our carrots are ready but despite their looks the kids absolutely loves the fresh crisp taste straight from garden to table and we're super excited to pull a few out.

We've got somemore growing sadly I don't believe they will all make it as carrots tend to take 60 to 80 days to be ready and we're just over that 60 day point but we'll wait and see how they go.

We do have some carrots in a pot along with out watermelon plant which, once the warm weather kicked in shot up and the carrots were doing really well.

It's looking a little weepy today due to yesterday's hot weather a whopping 36 degrees Celsius but we've given them a drink and some fertiliser so we'll see the watermelon plant bounce back within a few hours.

Our cucumber plant has two sprouts growing and it has been a late bloomer again a lot to do with sunlight and soil quality, I'm a little upset that I didn't plant this is a more warm and sunny location as I would have got a nice yield.

But as we had works planned for the backyard had we put them in another location they would have been pulled out by earth works.

Another one that has really done well and we have already been picking quite a few berries are out Strawberry plant which unfortunately I haven't been able to take to many pictures of the berries as the kids get to them before I have a chance.

I did manage to steal one for myself on the weekend and it was delicious, so juicy and a totally different flavour compared to store bought berries.

Planted in full sun along the fence line is our lemon tree and apple trees a frany smith (my fav) and a Pink Lady which the kids enjoy.

These trees I didn't muck about with and put them in the best location in our yard and I want to focus on building an edible fruit wall. I'll be heading down to get a pair tree and some peaches.

I also want to try my luck with an almond tree as growing up I have fond memories of the Almonds we would pick and remove from their shells. Such rich flavours and although a pain to remove the seeds the reward was fantastic.

Once the trees are a little more developed they will also provide some really good coverage and when the kids say "I'm hungry, what is there to eat?" I look forward to walking to the window, looking out the window and stating "There's plenty of food outside, what's wrong with it?" Or naming all the fruits and veggies in the backyard 🤣

How are all your gardens going?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency