September 8th Garden: Continue and the future.

Been a while since I posted about my garden. It's coming along nicely since my post in mid July. Here is the current progress:

This pot is a little slow to get flowers, I think it got too hot.


This pot surprised me with strawberries while I wasn't looking!


Struggling with this pot, I think some pruning may help it.

My strawberries look outstanding, and I am happy with their progress. I did give them slow releasing fertilizer in August, and it seems to have done the job of getting the flowers to bloom.

Young radishes, my pride and joy!

My self-watering container is worth every cent on hot days.
I think the central radishes aren't doing too well because I am yet to thin out the seedlings, plus they didn't get enough sunlight. Hoping to rectify this over the weekend.

Anti-vampire plants
I am pretty proud of how the garlic is doing! I planted them six weeks ago when I was given some cloves that had developed roots. As I know how long it takes to grow garlic I got a jump on that. Looking forward to seeing how that goes. May plant cucumber in the back and run it up the trellis.

My crazy blueberry is happily carrying on as if it didn't blossom during winter
All I can say is that I am looking forward to this year's crop. There were many flowers, and it's still budding at this point.

The Future


These are 20-gallon buckets that I prepared over the weekend with potting soil and slow-release fertilizer. Don't worry, I didn't forget about the drainage holes at the bottom. This is where I plan to grow my tomatoes, peppers, baby sugar melons and likely bush beans. I still need to start those seeds inside as the weather is still a little chilly in the morning.

Which is why these guys are now in the hardening step:

The first two columns are baby pepper seeds I received, but I think they were duds. The central two columns are baby sugar melons. In the future, I'll take the time to soak the seeds overnight before trying to grow them, they took 2 weeks to germinate. The final column is regular peppers, and though it's difficult to see, there are two which are emerging. I've been placing the container outside to enjoy the sun for a few hours every day, and once the first leaves open, they'll be transplanted into their new containers.

I'm looking forward to my garden developing more as the days turn into weeks. I'll need to get some more 20-gallon buckets for the rest of my seeds, but until then, I'll keep working with what I have.

In my next update, I'll tell all of you about my rosemary cutting adventure. Until then, happy gardening! Also, check out my friend @pixelhuntersam. She also started her own veggie patch and it's amazing! Show some love!

PS, all the horrible photos were taken by me with my phone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency