My Current Hydroponic Garden Conditions in July and Lettuce Harvest Preparation - Weekly Hydroponic Journal

20230711_100813.jpg



Hello Gardeners
How are you today ? I hope and pray, we are all always given health and also happiness in living this life. I am also very happy to finally be give the time and opportunity to participate again in the Hive Garden Community, a community in Hive to share stories about our experiences and the condition of our gardens. We can also get a lot of information and interesting stories from various gardens and gardening traditions around the world.

I will return with one question that I have often asked my readers. Why do we have to garden? This one question is very simple but there are lots of variable answers that we can get. Some people, do gardening activities at home as a fun hobby in their spare time. Some people, gardening to make a profit from the cultivation of vegetables or other.

20230711_100810.jpg
20230711_100739.jpg
20230711_100930.jpg

There is one more type, which is like me. Do gardening as a favorite hobby, but also earn money from it. That said, I did a simple job and was in demand by many people. Imagine, you get pay to do the things you love, that's a fun thing of course. However, whatever our reasons for gardening, you should do it with love. Because love, will make us do one thing for no reason and be happy because of it. Okay, that's all for the intermezo, let me invite my friends to see the condition of the vegetables in my hydroponic garden.



Conditions of Lettuce in My Hydroponic Garden
As of this week, my hydroponic garden is at its best. All the hydroponic media that I have are filled with vegetables and most importantly, all the vegetables that are being planted are at their best growth. It seems, I do it with love. Like the lettuce I planted this time, you can see for yourself. This lettuce looks very green and also makes the envy of those who see it.

20230711_100935.jpg
20230711_101133.jpg
20230711_101023.jpg

The lettuce I am growing in my hydroponic garden is currently looking very pretty and fresh. Like last week, I still have lettuce with two different planting ages and also two different locations. First, I have lettuce with a planting age of about 41 days after seeding which I planted in my hydroponic garden.

I have around 400 pots and now it's about to enter the harvest period. I've try this lettuce, and it turns out the taste and texture of this lettuce is very good. What's more, after I tried to weigh it, one pot of this lettuce weighed about 70 grams, meaning that when I harvested later, I would get more than 30 kilograms of lettuce later.

Second, I grow lettuce on the second floor balcony of my house. In that area, I have about 250 pots of lettuce which I grow with the Wijk hydroponic system. Currently, the lettuce that I grow on the balcony of the second floor of my house is about 36 days old after sowing.

20230711_155033.jpg
20230711_155049.jpg

Just like the lettuce in my yard, you can see the condition of the lettuce on the second floor balcony of my house, it looks very beautiful and fresh. The growth of the lettuce is also uniform and very optimal. In addition, we will not find pest attacks or damage to this lettuce. It seems that I will also get optimal vegetable yields in this planting period.

Seeing the condition of my lettuce that I planted was entering harvest time, I also started preparing for the lettuce seed nursery. This time, I tried to sow lettuce seeds again with new lettuce seeds from PT. Indooseed with the Caipaira lettuce variant which is known in my city's hydroponic community has high productivity and very optimal growth.

20230711_155106.jpg
20230711_155057.jpg

I sown about 1000 lettuce seeds this time, I don't know if they will all grow. Because, from the explanation on the packaging of this product, it provides information that the power of the seeds to grow is around 85%. The process of sowing seeds must be done well and patiently.



Condition of Pakcoy in My Hydroponic Garden
Apart from lettuce, I also have pakcoy with a planting age of about 16 days after sowing in my hydroponic garden. I have about 300 pots of pakcoy which seem to grow very well and optimally. During this planting period, I used a liquid fertilizer solution with a concentration of around 1000-1100 ppm, and it seems like this concentration of hydroponic fertilizer is still ideal for the growth of this pakcoy.

20230711_101057.jpg
20230711_101045.jpg
20230711_101105.jpg

If I pay close attention, I also don't see any interference or attacks from rats on the packoy that I planted in this hydroponic medium. I still remember last month, when I haven't found a solution to get rid of these rats. All the pakcoy that I grow in my hydroponic garden, are almost eaten up by rats. I can't wait to see the growth of this pakcoy in the next week.



Condition of Kangkong in My Hydroponic Garden
I also grow kale in my hydroponic garden. Since I started gardening with a hydroponic system, kangkong has become one of my favorite vegetables to grow in this hydroponic garden. Kangkong has all the requirements needed for hydroponic actors. Kangkong is very easy to plant and sow, kangkong is also very easy to grow and has a short harvest life. Besides that, kangkong also has a delicious taste and is easy for mothers to cook.

20230711_100940.jpg
20230711_100954.jpg

During this planting period, I planted around 300 pots of kangkong with a planting age of about 16 days after sowing. Kangkong in my hydroponic garden looks to grow very well and optimally. You can see from the condition of the kangkong that looks green and fresh. In addition, the growth of this kale also looks uniform and that is a sign that the vegetables we plant grow and absorb plant nutrients very well.

If friends pay attention, the growth of this kangkong is very fast. If you compare it with my weekly journal hydroponics last week and compare it with the current condition of the kangkong. Growth looks very different. It seems that in a few days the kangkong that I planted will be ready for me to harvest.



Mint Leaves Condition in My Hydroponic Garden
Finally, I invite you to see the condition of the mint leaves that I plant in my hydroponic garden. Mint leaves are one of the vegetables or plants that have the best financial benefits for me. Just imagine, 100 grams of mint leaves can be sold for around IDR 20K (or 1.3 USD).

20230711_124012.jpg

20230711_124027.jpg

Currently, I have about 220 pots of mint in my hydroponic garden. The conditions for mint leaves also grow very well and optimally. We can see from the growth of green and fresh mint leaves. In addition, the right harvest and post-harvest processes also make the condition of mint leaves even better.

I'm also trying to build a new hydroponic installation to grow mint leaves. 220 pots for mint leaves is still not enough for the needs of mint production in my hydroponic garden. I hope that next week my new hydroponic installation can be used. Okay, maybe that's all my post this time. See you next week.


About Author


Call me Isdarmady, because I have a full name that is very long, namely Isdarmady Syahputra Ritonga. I am a head of the family who work as Farmers Vegetables Hydroponic and Consultant Hydroponics, sometimes I also sell coffee from various regions in Indonesia.
I have expertise dispensing coffee with a variety of techniques and tools brewing, because I have the desire to make a coffee shop with hydroponics as centerpieces. Help me realize that dream.

Thanks for read, vote, re-blog and support me in Hive. Maybe god will reward the kindness, let’s success together.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency