Conditions of Vegetables in Hydroponic Gardens at the End of March 2023 and Preparations for April

IMG_1361.jpeg



Hello Gardeners
How are you today ? I hope and pray, we are all always given health and also happiness in living this life. I am very happy to finally be given the time and opportunity to participate and contribute to the Hive Garden Community again. As usual, I will share journals about my activities in my hydroponic garden and the condition of vegetables in my hydroponic garden.

This week, my activities in the garden are very busy. Various things, I do and improve to make my hydroponic garden even better. In the city where I live, is experiencing of the transition period season. A season where rain and drought can come and go. This extreme weather has made us as a family sick, such as cold fever and cough. Apart from being sick, the strong winds that occurred some time ago also destroyed the UV plastic that I used as a roof in my hydroponic installation.
IMG_1376.jpeg
IMG_1380.jpeg

Because of that, I tried to repair the UV roof with the available materials. I bought back UV plastic at the store, and also bought some wood to replace the broken wood of these roof joists. The process of repairing this UV plastic roof is not too difficult, but it must be done carefully and carefully. If you do it carelessly, this UV plastic roof will not hold up and quickly breaks down. As I recall, I haven't replaced UV plastic in four years and I think the roof of this hydroponic installation broke at the right time.



Condition of Pakcoy in My Hydroponic Garden

IMG_1370.jpeg

Next, I will invite you to see the condition of the vegetables that I grow in my hydroponic garden. First, I will take you to see the condition and development of the pakcoy that I plant in my hydroponic garden.

Pakcoy or bok-choi is one of the favorite vegetables and liked by many people in Asia. This vegetable has a crunchy texture, very delicious taste and also a green color that can help the appearance of a dish. Usually, pakcoy is used as an additional vegetable for noodle-shaped dishes or stir-fried meat dishes. Because of this, the need for pakcoy for Asian people or in Indonesia is very high and it is still very profitable to grow it.

IMG_1364.jpeg
IMG_1366.jpeg

In my hydroponic garden, there are about 500 pakcoy pots with a planting age of about 26 days after sowing. Pakcoy conditions grow very fertile and optimal. We can see from the condition of the leaf color that is bright and very green. However, several pots of these vegetables also experienced a slowdown in growing. I think that's a very reasonable thing, because it's impossible for vegetables grown either conventionally or hydroponically to grow 100%.

For these vegetables, I give a liquid fertilizer solution with a concentration of around 1200 ppm in the growing medium. I got this standard from the results of Google various literature about regulating the nutrient ppm levels for the right pakcoy. In my opinion, next week as pakcoy it can be harvested.

IMG_1372.jpeg

Besides that, I also have pakcoy with different planting ages. I have 300 pots of pakcoy that are 20 days old after sowing. Pakcoy conditions grow very fertile and optimal. For the time being, all these vegetables have uniform growth. I still use hydroponic liquid fertilizer with a concentration of 1000 ppm on 300 pakcoy. Apart from saving money, I think to try to provide nutrition at the right level and not be redundant.



Condition of Kangkong in My Hydroponic Garden

IMG_0977.jpeg
About 4 days ago, I had harvested all the kangkong that I planted in my hydroponic garden. I get around 15 kilograms of kangkong to sell for IDR 15K / 1 USD (for 1 kilogram) and we consume 3 kilograms of kangkong ourselves in stages.

I do this kangkong harvest in the morning, just a few minutes before sunrise. For information, there are two good vegetable harvest times to get fresh vegetables. First, harvest vegetables in the morning and second, harvest vegetables in the afternoon. We should not harvest vegetables during the day, because it can damage and wilt vegetables.

IMG_1360.jpeg

After harvesting, I also sowed the seeds to replace the kangkong that I harvested. I sowed about 400 pots of kangkong seeds for the next planting period. I will fill each pot with 6-8 kangkong seeds. The conditions for the kangkong seeds that I sow are growing very well and optimally, it seems that in a few days I can transfer them to my hydroponic media.



Conditions of Lettuce in My Hydroponic Garden
Next, I invite my friends to see the salads that I grow in my hydroponic garden. As friends know, I grow lettuce on the balcony of the second floor of my house.

IMG_1400.jpeg
IMG_1402.jpeg

Why is it like that ? according to my gardening experience and the literature I read. Lettuce is an upland vegetable that is not suitable for planting in lowlands with hot sunlight. Because of that, I plant lettuce in a place where sunlight is limited and the hydroponic media is protected from the highest point of the sun. Because of that, I can grow lettuce in the lowlands as it is today.

I have 300 pots of hydroponic media for growing lettuce and I have planted all of them. There are 30 pots of ready-to-harvest lettuce and 270 lettuces with a planting age of about 16 days after sowing. Lettuce is a vegetable that has a slow initial growth phase. Lettuce growth will look different when 30 days after seeding.



Bitter Mustard Conditions in My Hydroponic Garden

IMG_1371.jpeg
There is one thing I forgot to cover last week. I also grow mustard greens in my hydroponic garden. Bitter mustard or Chinese mustard is one of the unique vegetables in my opinion. This vegetable has a bitter taste, but when eaten with rice it becomes a very complex and complementary whole.

I didn't plant much, only 90 pots and that was only for our family's personal consumption. All of these vegetables are growing very well and optimally, now this bitter mustard is aged 16 days after sowing. Hopefully, these vegetables will continue to grow well and optimally.



Mint Leaves Condition in My Hydroponic Garden

IMG_1358.jpeg

IMG_1374.jpeg

Finally, I will invite my friends to see the condition of the mint leaves that I plant in my hydroponic garden. I've been growing mint for several years and mint has become one of my favorite horticultural products.

This week, I do routine maintenance and seeding for the mint I'm growing. The conditions for mint leaves grow very well and optimally. I think, this week I can harvest these mint leaves. Okay, that's all for my weekly hydroponic journal this time. Hopefully friends can get information and inspiration. See you next week.


About Author


Call me Isdarmady, because I have a full name that is very long, namely Isdarmady Syahputra Ritonga. I am a head of the family who work as Farmers Vegetables Hydroponic and Consultant Hydroponics, sometimes I also sell coffee from various regions in Indonesia.
I have expertise dispensing coffee with a variety of techniques and tools brewing, because I have the desire to make a coffee shop with hydroponics as centerpieces. Help me realize that dream.

Thanks for read, vote, re-blog and support me in Hive. Maybe god will reward the kindness, let’s success together.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency