Garden Journal - Time to clean up.

DSC_3334.jpg
Crassula Ovata

This is probably not the best time to join the challenge. My balcony doesn't look the best right now. But then again... it's all a cycle and part of growing I guess.

After the spring rush to bloom, most plants is just growing new stems and leaves with just some flowers here and there. There is a lot of cleaning up to do which I am delaying terribly :p

DSC_3348.jpg

I tried to grow some Dwarf Morning Glory as I was hoping they will be able to withstand the hot sun and give some shade to the plants under. That didn't work :p
They did bloom while I kept them more shaded. As soon as I put them in the place I was planning to they just died.

Pretty seed pods though :)

DSC_3307.jpg

Ice Plants need cleaning..

DSC_3330.jpg

And Kalanchoe that keeps blooming. Didn't know they can do that :)

DSC_3331.jpg

Below is my biggest pot that normally plant some annuals. This spring I decided to put my pelargoniums there. All was going great, they bloomed and looked nice and bushy until some nasty little butterfly decided to lay eggs there. The &%%$$ caterpillars eat the leaves and dig into the stems.
Well.. pelargoniums no more.
One is looking ok and maybe will survive.

Few days ago I removed the dead stems and some white flowers I sowed and now I dropped the rest of the Morning Glory seeds. If they grow - I will have some late fall blooms. If not, oh well :) I didn't know what to do with the seeds anyway.
They actually might like the cool of the fall more so lets hope something shows up. They are quite pretty.

DSC_3345.jpg

Now off to the prettier things:
I see the Oxalis triangularis is growing! Yay! It doesn't like too much sun and I do keep it in the most shady spot, but the summer sun still gets it at some point.

Oxalis goes dormant then and just regrows when it gets the conditions it likes more. It grows those thing rhizomes that stores nutrients when the plant goes dormant. I am actually planning to get a piece and plant it in pot to keep at home. I adore the dark leaves and I hardly see them in that corner.

DSC_3310.jpg

The pot is not used properly. I have some smaller pots in it with succulents that don't like too much sun. I will probably put Hibiscus there that I have growling from seed.
Eventually :)
But will keep the Oxalis so it can grow around it.

Those long steps is some wild Periwinkle that I regret getting. It is terribly invasive! As soon as it grows longer and touches another pot it roots there.
Maybe I should try to grow this one in those hanging pots that the Morning Glory didn't like :P

DSC_3346.jpg

DSC_3311.jpgDSC_3312.jpg

Above another Echeveria runyonii 'Topsy Turvy' starts to bloom right Next to Chrysanthemums. And now I noticed some quests on it!
See?
Damn!

DSC_3353.jpg

Few other plants are blooming or will bloom very soon.
This is Sedum spectabile. I have another one with darker flowers, but it has no flowers yet. This one I like more too.
I am tempted to plant this in the big pot after dead pelargoniums and let it me. It hardly requires any care and grows to a nice size bush.

DSC_3308.jpg

One of my stinky plants (Stapelia).
Any day now :)

DSC_3340.jpg

Below Crassula perforata with it's tiny flowers. This thing blooms twice a year! One of those plants that hardly needs any attention.

DSC_3344.jpg

Few mint will also bloom soon. They have amazing, tiny flowers!

DSC_3343.jpgDSC_3333.jpg

Cacti are going good. No casualties lately. The summer this year is not very hot and I think they enjoy it more.

This little Turbinicarpus Viereckii keeps blooming! Since spring. And will stop only when it gets cold and it is time to go dormant for winter. In about 2 months I'd say.

DSC_3328.jpg

Some are growing babies like if their life depended on it :p

DSC_3325.jpg
Lobivia

Some need to have dried flowers and pods removed....

DSC_3339.jpg
Gymnocalycium Mihanovichii

and some just look freaking adorable :)

DSC_3338.jpg
Mammillaria Gracilis Monstruosa

Here is a cool thing that appeared on a Sedum burrito stem. I suppose some wasp did it? It is there for about 2 years now and I don't want to cut that naked stem off, because of that little construction. It is not used anymore... but I like it.

DSC_3342.jpgDSC_3326.jpg

Zoom...

Crop.jpg

Well, if you know me you know that it not all the pots. But I think those are the ones that need some attention now, or deserve some attention.

The first image is my 8 or 9 years old Crassula Ovata. The plant looks like a tree with thick trunk. The leaves turn red in the sun and looks amazing!

Thanks @nikv for the tag and invitation :)
@ludmila.kyriakou and @violetmed care to join?
Here is the challenge post

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency