*September news from my Italian garden 🌈🙏💐😍😎

Gorgeous gardeners!

(NOTE: I had written August instead of September, in the heading - ooopsy!)

There is a LOT of activity here in the medieval quarter garden that I use - the greenness is riprendendo with the marginal cooling of the end of summer in progress... I've been clearing and tidying, and supporting plants to go on flourishing, still working intensively in a small daily window - the few minutes I can bear the insect life and heat...

Nevertheless! The space is taking shape beautifully, as I cut back dead wood and excessive growth from certain un-strategically-planted beasts - like the wysteria with no structure to hold it...

The biggest joy of doing this clearing, is the view opening up again. There has been a lot of opening-closing-reopening, etc dynamic in the garden, as the 'legal' 'owner' planted things very shortsightedly, which now is causing all kinds of disharmony...

Meanwhile me and the plants are helping each other to thrive! Anove is the basil seeding richly, and below this is the Lunga Di Napoli zucca which is growing visibly daily.... so exciting to have one big fruiting body at least on this plant - perhaps others can develop still.

Some of the dead wood I removed.

Grapes of different colours are ripening: one of the most attractive fruits to pluck a bunch of for table nibbles!

My trusty bietola has come back too: this is my stolwart go-to bushel for greens throughout the year: it got pretty droopy and holey in the heat, but now is producing lots. There are tons of smaller beet greens plants dotted about here, but this one has a perfect seat which makes it the king of all beets for this year.

I really hope the twig holding this Mano Di Buddha doesn't break! It has a way to go yet, before it's ready to pick.

In front of The Arthouse, the zucche are doing well, though it's not so easy to get just-the-right-amount of water to them: this is such a particolare microclimate of extremes.

Still, this wee beauty is expanding, hidden behind the huge leaves. I love that it has decorated itself with a feather - or maybe the bird did it!

The Scottish wild honeysuckle from my island is doing gloriously this year, and is especially stunning in berry.

I love when the roots or stump of veggies bought in a shop grow like this into something that can be reutilised: such a brilliant force of nature and confirmation that we're still buying living foods!

The weight of the zucca is pulling a bit much on the rose...

A pepper from last year, refruiting. 🤩

And, another Old Faithful; the rocket plant which appeared to fail in the summer scorchio, but nnow is leafing abundantly 💖 The feral rocket is also growing profusely along a banking over the other side of the old town - having survived both summer inferno and council 'cleaning' practise of aggressive mowing-down of important natural foraging areas - I must write them and advise them to not do this. I got a great bag-full of lovely leaves the other day.

And finally, in my extended garden (which is all of Gaia Sophia; a box of apples that we picked from the ground - under Natural Law - from an orchard tree that was visibly neglected.

LOVE AND ALL GOOD THINGS IN YOUR GARDENS

PS Please upvote and share

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency