Sowing basil seeds for the spring and the summer to come

Hello fellow members of this community! Today's post is a recount of the sowing and early sprouts of my basil plants.

I moved to my new place in the middle of the winter, so the expenses for everything have slowed down a little bit the ideas and projects that I have for my new backyard, but I am still determined to take advantage of the early spring to sow whatever variety of plants that I can to try and have some mature plants by summer, at least the ones with the fast life cycle.

On the project "herbs and aromatic plants" that I have in my head, basil was in the top of the list because I cook so much with this plant, and I love the smell and the texture and I have couple of dishes that I would like to do with fresh basil, like pesto which I love.

Diseño sin título (6).png

I had been reading, watching videos on YouTube about the special cares and requirements of the basil, and I thought I was ready to sow some seeds that I had bought a couple of weeks ago, so I did.

The first thing I did was to prepare the small flower pots that I was going to use to sow the basil, which I previously had filled with soil a couple of weeks ago when I bought some pots and the new soil that I have already run out of.

P1070935.JPG

It is the first time that I tried to plant basil, so I was amazed by the small size of the seeds. It is funny really how tiny they are, and according to what I read and watched, they germinate really fast between 2 and 7 days.

The envelope from where I had the seeds said that they should be sowed not deeper than 1 cm on the soil, so I tried to put just a little layer of soil on top of the seeds and then watered them until all the pots were very humid.

I placed them in a place below shade for a couple of days, paying attention to the soil so that it is always wet to help all the seeds germinate.

P1070936.JPG

P1070937.JPG

P1070938.JPG

P1070939.JPG

P1070943.JPG

P1070940.JPG

P1070941.JPG

It had been 4 days after I sowed the seeds when I began to notice all the small green dots on top of the soil in all the flowerpots, meaning that a high amount of the seeds that I planted had sprouted.

According to everything I read, as soon as the basil have germinated, is time to place the seedlings to the direct exposition to the sun for at least 6 hours at day, and one also have to pay attention to the amount of water that you add to the pots because apparently they are very easily stressed by excessive amounts of water and they require just the right amount every couple of days or even 4 or 5 to prosper, so I am trying to follow those advices.

P1080045.JPG

P1080048.JPG

P1080050.JPG

After I sowed the basil seeds I also saw a huge onion on my fridge that was starting to grow green, so I decided to give her a chance to grow so I planted it on some pot and I hope that she might continue to develop normally. In the meantime, Pauchi was accompanying me the whole time and checking what I was doing in the garden. I am also proud of the small pink flowering plant that I had transplanted weeks ago now looks more beautiful than ever and even the huge amount of flowers that had blossomed and the new intense color of them makes me think that she is healthy.

P1070933.JPG

P1070934.JPG

P1070950.JPG

P1070951.JPG

P1070952.JPG

P1070953.JPG

P1070954.JPG

I hope that you liked the pictures of my small basil plants and for sure I will keep up updated as soon as they grow bigger because at some point I will have to transplant them to bigger flowerpots for them to grow properly and develop into healthy adult plants with big leaves as I want them to be.

I thank everybody who might have the time to check on this post and send regards and best wishes to all as always, feedback is very welcomed.

Until next time!

César.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency