Harmony that blooms.

port.jpg

Hello community! I share with you one of my favourite hobbies, gardening, I think it is one of the best therapies for the soul that exists.
I confess that I am my grandmother's official gardener. I know how much she loves plants, and I have been dedicating time to the garden for her pleasure.
The space is not very big but any area of the garden can be put to good use.
I recommend visualizing and arranging the site in portions, so it will be easier to see which plants can go in one place and which can go in another.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.27.57 PM (1).jpeg

Flowers of Capacho "Canna generalis" also "Canna indica".

The flowers are a spectacle in my garden because of their size and colour. I have red and orange ones, I am missing the yellow one which I haven't got. Some time ago I had problems with the butterfly worms, they usually place their cocoons and devour the leaves.

Once the flower fades, it reveals bulbs that contain seeds, which germinate in the soil and reproduce the sprouts of the capacho.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.01 PM (1).jpeg

I used a natural repellent made from chilli pepper and garlic.
This plant requires abundant watering, so it is important to keep it wet.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.01 PM.jpeg
Red capacho cocoon

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.27.58 PM.jpeg

Red capacho flower

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.02 PM (1).jpeg
Orange capacho cocoon

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.05 PM.jpeg
Red capacho flower

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.27.56 PM.jpeg

Orange capacho flower

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.27.59 PM.jpeg
Yellow bignonia, or cat's claw (Macfadyena unguis-cati).

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.00 PM.jpeg

I like vines and this one is very colourful as it is dressed with bright yellow flowers. The first time I bought it I don't know why it died soon after. Then I bought two more and planted them on the fence of the main façade and they quickly started to climb through the holes of the honey stamens.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.27.58 PM (1).jpeg

It adapts to the surface where you want it to grow.
Watering for this plant is 2 times a week. And to guarantee the bright yellow of its flowers you should add fertilizer every 15 days.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.03 PM.jpeg

Chipe, vicaria or catharanthus roseus flower.

There is a great variety, flowers can be white, pink, red, mauve, mauve, peach and other colours or shades.

It reproduces by seeds, in my case I obtained it from a small cut stem, which I sowed with abundant water and after 10 days I observed that it began to take root.

It adapts to all types of soil, even sandy, and needs to be grown in full sun.
I water them once or twice a week.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.04 PM (1).jpeg

Strelitzia reginae or bird of paradise.

Their flowers are fan-shaped and often take the shape of an exotic or tropical bird.
It is because of this unique shape of the flowers that it is called bird of paradise. At the tip of the purple leaf is the pollen and inside is the pistil.

The elegance of this flower is unsurpassed, which is why it is often used as a cut flower or in various compositions.
It requires good watering, so I generally maintain a certain humidity in its pot.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-06 at 11.28.04 PM.jpeg

I confess that I have had this plant for some years and its flowering has been very little. I even took it out in the sun to see if that was the problem and it almost died... I returned it to its place of origin where it gets a lot of sun and just a couple of weeks ago I saw that it flowered.
I'm trying to change the sand for one of better quality and fertilized.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-07 at 8.15.54 PM (1).jpeg

Trinitaria or Bougainvillea

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-07 at 8.15.56 PM.jpeg

This trinitaria has been in my garden for perhaps more than 20 years, where it has remained no bigger than 2 metres.
Curiously as it is planted close to the neighbour's house, it only flowers towards that side because it receives constant sun on that side, unlike the side of my house which is shaded all day long.
It is a plant that requires a lot of sun and can withstand drought without any problems.
For some time now we have noticed that it has grown a lot and now it is flowering towards my garden.
I water it once a week.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-07 at 8.15.57 PM.jpeg

Ixoroideae or ixoras.

WhatsApp Image 2021-09-07 at 8.15.58 PM.jpeg

This is also an old plant in my garden, it is very hardy and easy to reproduce.
They usually drop seeds that germinate easily when they fall.

I enjoy pruning it a lot because I can give it the shape I want, in this case rectagular, and a few days after pruning it, it is covered with fires that attract a lot of attention.

Plants are living beings and as such deserve respect and a lot of care. Gardening requires responsibility and patience. But the effort will be doubly rewarded, especially when you see how much harmony is generated in your environment when you create these spaces.


Thank you for reading me! I hope you enjoyed it.

separador6.jpg

All pictures are property of @carlosp18
Follow me on Instagram @cpingenieria

Discord: carlosp18

baner626x80.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency