RE: A very noble soul

I thank you for considering me your biggest fan (unless that's ironic). Yes, I'm a big fan, and I'll tell you why...

-Several years ago, when I commented on a post of yours and said I was a fan of Greece, you replied that you had a room in Athens where I could stay if I got there. I was impressed by your saying that to a stranger.

-I admire your photos, they are to my taste, and they are as I would like them to do. I know I can't, I am constrained by a lack of technical knowledge, experience, and lack of necessary equipment and I understand that, and I am glad to see what you put. I see that @traisto is following in your footsteps and getting very good shots. You have certainly taught her a thing or two.

-I admire the fact that you gave up your life in Athens, and I am convinced that the life of a photographer, even if not very materially rewarding, was very interesting. You did a hard thing by choosing to live in a village in Crete. I admire you for not giving up. I think (without having any proof) that there were some very hard times when you wanted to.

With all my admiration, I admit that I don't manage to read all your posts, for various reasons.

I understand how it is with these little animals. I guess it couldn't be any other way.

Yes, about the carob trees. I saw a documentary on TV. It was probably old, and I didn't even remember which part of the island it was filmed in. There was a mill there and a small factory that processed the carob seeds. They made flour from which they then made some paste and if I remember correctly, extracted a syrup. Some of them actually had large plantations where Pakistani workers worked. Not legally, i.e. not paying taxes to the owner. I think he paid 25 euros/day per worker (there were four) and the owner's daily income was 300 euros.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency