Impressive Growths, Little Surprises and Modest Harvest - August Urban Garden Update - Anticipating Food Shortages

Hi everyone !

Finally back in Paris, I was able to see the evolution and especially the extraordinary survival capacity of our plants ! A little advice if you grow plants indoors, in your flat : turn it into a greenhouse. It may sound silly, but if you have to go away for more than two weeks without anyone coming to water, then the best thing to do is close all the windows. I've been doing this simple trick for two summers now and not one plant has died since.

I used to always leave a small window open and despite the trick of soaking woolen threads in water through which the plants suck up water by capillary action - which works quite well - well, despite that, there were always victims of the summer heat...

Below is how I found my purslane cuttings! I'm very interested in this type of plant which grows fast and in frustrating conditions and which are especially edible! This is the case with this one and I was very happy to discover its growth... You'll understand that two pictures below :)

IMG_9140.JPG

I was lucky enough to find this unglazed clay watering jar or "oya" just before I left ! It is really thanks to this that the plant has grown so much, not to mention survived !

IMG_9108.JPG

Because that's what we were going for ! I had these little shoots only two weeks earlier ! I must say that I am really bluffed by the efficiency of this system which I can only encourage you to try...

Those who already know... already know ^^

IMG_7359.JPG

IMG_7361.JPG

But let's move on to the shared garden we are occupying while we wait to start our project in the countryside. After some internal organizational problems, we had to move almost all our plants from the open ground into individual pots. Many of them did not appreciate the transfer, but it was an opportunity to test this " technic "...

If I had to sum up this adventure (still in progress) it is that due to our delay: We mostly grew leaves, haha! But all in all, as we have mostly and almost exclusively invested our own energy, it's only fun :)

Now, we'll have to be more serious and prepare some canned food to see the winter coming... Thank you globalists ^^, but I know we'll manage to get through it. Maybe some more than others, but it's the preparation that changes the game !

In order, you can see some of our vegetables, ready or soon to be harvested: a cucumber, a pumpkin, some tomatoes, and a squash which I can't remember the variety :)

IMG_9156.JPG

IMG_9166.JPG

IMG_9146.JPG

IMG_9143.JPG

IMG_9161.JPG

IMG_9162.JPG

During this morning tour of the gardens, I was able to find some seeds of Nicandra physaloides or "Peruvian Apple" (below)... This plant is traditionally used in the organic vegetable garden to repel or poison insects, especially whiteflies. It resembles Physalis but is toxic, although it is sometimes used in phytotherapy.

IMG_9163.JPG

I also found some calendula seeds ! This time, it was from a plant that I had grown. But it seems that when you start to become aware of a plant or a specificity of Nature, you come across it everywhere afterwards !

IMG_9144.JPG

IMG_9145.JPG

I saw that purple bindweed - Ipomoea purpurea - had started to invade some of our plants, but I couldn't resist leaving a little for the beauty and depth of their flowers.

IMG_9154.JPG

Here is my harvest of the day, I think the rest will be for my colleague as we are leaving tomorrow for several weeks... It will always be a complement for tonight's salad and the best thing is that I was also able to find some seeds ready to be resown...

IMG_9148.JPG

IMG_9171.JPG

IMG_E9167.JPG

Below are our chilli plants, but as mentioned before, our delay will probably mean that we won't get anything this year... well, summer is still here and we can still hope :)

IMG_9152.JPG

The corn is growing well but it has no cobs... I don't really know why, especially as I've seen them on other plots that were already more mature. I think it's a question of watering ! But as I'm the one going on holiday, I guess I can't complain ^^

IMG_9155.JPG

Finally, here's a last surprise that I was quite happy with! This is lamb's-quarters - Chenopodium album - from the family Amaranthaceae the same as quinoa. I think this edible plant tops my favourites along with nettle and a few others. For me, these are the perfect plants for survival. They are abundant and their nutritional aspects are not at all inferior to plants that you could grow on your own...

If you ask me, the best investment you can make is to buy a good book on recognising wild edible plants. But before we go and get lost in the forest and live in a cave - if the technocrats push us there... We'll concentrate on gardening anyway ^^

IMG_9160.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this article :) If you did, don't hesitate to tell me in comments! If you want to support my work and offer me your trust, you can add me to your automated votes via Hive Vote. I'm an advocate of manual voting, but sometimes I add a little automation too ^^

Quality over Quantity !

I wish you a nice week and a nice summer. Take care of yourself and your loved ones !

See you soon,

@anttn






Bonjour à tous !

Enfin de retour à Paris, j'ai pu constater l'évolution et surtout l'extraordinaire capacité de survie de nos plantes ! Un petit conseil si vous cultivez des plantes en intérieur, dans votre appartement : transformez le en serre. Ça peut paraître idiot mais si vous devez partir plus de deux semaines sans que personne ne puisse venir arroser, alors le mieux, c'est que vous fermiez toutes les fenêtres. Depuis deux étés j'applique ce simple stratagème et aucune plante n'est morte depuis.

Avant, je laissais toujours une petite fenêtre ouverte et malgré le coup des fils en laine trempés dans l'eau et au travers desquels les plantes aspirent l'eau par capillarité - et qui fonctionne assez bien - et bien malgré cela, il y avait toujours des victimes des chaleurs estivales...

Ci-dessous, voilà comment j'ai retrouvé mes boutures de pourpier ! Je suis très intéressé par ce type de plante qui pousse vite et dans des conditions frustres et qui sont surtout comestibles ! C'est le cas de celle-ci et j'ai été très heureux de découvrir sa croissance... Vous comprendrez cela deux photos en dessous :)



IMG_9140.JPG

J'ai eu la chance de trouver cette jarre d'arrosage ou "oya" en terre cuite non-émaillée juste avant de partir ! C'est vraiment grâce à cela que la plante à autant poussée, sans même parler de survie pour le coup !

IMG_9108.JPG

Car voilà dont nous étions partis !! J'avais ces seuls petites pousses à peine deux semaines plus tôt ! Je dois dire que je suis vraiment bluffé par l'efficacité de ce système à propos duquel je ne peux que vous encourager à tester...

Ceux qui savent déjà... savent déjà ^^

IMG_7359.JPG

IMG_7361.JPG

Mais passons désormais dans le jardin partagé que nous occupons dans l'attente de pouvoir commencer notre projet à la campagne. Après des péripéties internes à l'organisation, nous avions dû déménager la quasi totalité de nos plantes depuis la pleine terre dans des pots individuels. Beaucoup n'avaient pas appréciées le transfert, mais ça avait été l'occasion de tester cette "technique"...

Si je devais résumer cette aventure (encore en cours) c'est que du fait de notre retard : Nous avons surtout fait pousser des feuilles, haha ! Mais dans l'ensemble, comme nous avons surtout et presque exclusivement investit notre propre énergie, ce n'est que du plaisir :)

Maintenant, il va falloir être plus sérieux et préparer de conserves pour voir un peu venir l'hiver qui s'annonce compliqué... Merci les mondialistes ^^, mais je sais que nous parviendrons à nous en sortir. Peut-être certains plus que d'autres, mais c'est la préparation qui change la donne !

Dans l'ordre, vous pourrez voir quelques uns de nos légumes, prêts ou bientôt pour la récolte : un concombre, un potimarron, quelques tomates, ainsi qu'une courge toute en relief dont je ne me rappelle pas la variété :)

IMG_9156.JPG

IMG_9166.JPG

IMG_9146.JPG

IMG_9143.JPG

IMG_9161.JPG

IMG_9162.JPG

Durant ce tour matinal aux jardins, j'ai pu trouver quelques graines de Nicandra physaloides ou "Pomme du Pérou" (ci-dessous)... Cette plante est traditionnellement utilisée en culture biologique au potager pour repousser ou empoisonner les insectes, notamment les aleurodes. Celle-ci ressemble aux Physalis mais elle est toxique même si on l'utilise parfois en phytothérapie.

IMG_9163.JPG

J'ai aussi retrouvé des graines de calendula ! Cette fois-ci, c'est du plant que j'avais fait poussé. Mais c'est à croire que lorsqu'on commence à prendre conscience d'une plante ou d'une spécificité de la Nature, on la croise partout ensuite !

IMG_9144.JPG

IMG_9145.JPG

J'ai vue que du liseron pourpre - Ipomoea purpurea - avait commencé d'envahir certaines de nos plantes, mais je n'ai pu resister à l'envie d'en laisser tout de même un peu pour la beauté et la profondeur de leurs fleurs.

IMG_9154.JPG

Voilà ma récolte du jour, je pense que le reste sera pour mon collègue comme nous repartons dès demain pour plusieurs semaines... Ça fera toujours un complément pour la salade de ce soir et le mieux c'est que j'ai aussi pu trouver quelques graines prêtes à être ressemer...

IMG_9148.JPG

IMG_9171.JPG

IMG_E9167.JPG

Ci-dessous, ce sont nos pieds de piment, mais comme indiqué précédemment, notre retard fera que nous n'obtiendrons probablement rien cette année... enfin l'été est encore là et on peut toujours espérer :)

IMG_9152.JPG

Les maïs poussent bien mais ils n'ont aucun épis... Je ne sais pas vraiment pourquoi, d'autant que j'en ai vu sur d'autres parcelles qui étaient déjà plus matures. À mon avis, c'est une histoire d'arrosage ! Mais comme c'est moi qui part en vacances, je pense que je ne peux pas me plaindre ^^

IMG_9155.JPG

Pour finir, voici une dernière surprise qui m'a assez enchantée ! Voilà du chénopode blanc - Chenopodium album - de la famille des Amaranthaceae la même que le quinoa. Je pense que cette plante comestible arrive en tête de mes préférences avec l'ortie et quelques autres. Pour moi, ce sont les plantes parfaites pour la survie. On les trouve en abondance et leurs aspects nutritifs n'a rien à envier à des plantes que l'on pourrait faire pousser volontairement...

Si vous voulez mon avis, le meilleur investissement que vous pouvez faire c'est d'acheter un bon livre de reconnaissance des plantes sauvages comestibles. Mais avant d'aller se perdre en forêt et vivre dans une grotte - si les technocrates nous y poussent... On va tout de même se concentrer sur le jardinage ^^

IMG_9160.JPG

J'espère que cet article vous aura plût et intéressé :) Si c'est le cas, n'hésitez pas à me le dire en commentaire ! Si vous souhaitez soutenir mon travail et m'offrir votre confiance, vous pouvez m'ajouter à vos votes automatisés via Hive Vote. Je suis un défenseur du vote manuel, mais il m'arrive aussi d'ajouter un peu d'automatisation ^^

Quality over Quantity !

Je vous souhaite une belle semaine ainsi qu'un bel été. Prenez soin de vous ainsi que de vos proches !

À bientôt,

@anttn

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency