Trimming Back The Tomato Plants Again

Hello, hivers and garden lovers!

The tomatoes are starting to get ripe on my plants now, but the plants were so bushy that I was having trouble seeing a lot of the tomatoes on the plants. I decided to give the plants another haircut so that I could find the tomatoes as they were getting ripe. I've been picking a few ripe paste tomatoes in the greenhouse, but I had to dig through the plants to find them.

The first plants that I trimmed were the greenhouse plants. That made it a lot easier to see the tomatoes on the plants. It might also help push the tomatoes to ripen a bit faster.

DSCN5487.JPG

DSCN5489.JPG

After that, I decided to trim up the tomato plants in the garden. They were getting overgrown, but not putting on very many more tomatoes. Now I can see a lot of the tomatoes on the plants.

DSCN5491.JPG

I hacked off quite a bit of plant material. I made a couple of mistakes where I took off a branch that had green tomatoes on it, but I put the tomatoes in the greenhouse with the hope that they'll ripen. I didn't cut off very many, but I'd hate to just throw them out with the plant cuttings. I made a pretty good sized pile of cuttings from all the tomato plants.

DSCN5490.JPG

After the trimming was done, I found a few ripe or almost ripe tomatoes, so I picked those. Most of them were the Black Krim tomatoes.

DSCN5492.JPG

As soon as I get enough ripe tomatoes to fill some jars, I'll start canning them. I probably only need a few more to have enough for a canner full of jars. The Black Krim tomatoes are pretty large, and so are the Amana Orange tomatoes in the first row. I'll probably use some of the large paste tomatoes to help fill enough jars for a full canner load.

That's all I have for this post, thanks for checking it out!

hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency