Garden Journal, The Carrot Harvest

Hello, hivers and garden lovers!

It took me about a week to harvest my carrots this year, the weather was not very cooperative. I knew I was running out of time to get the carrots pulled out before the ground started to freeze, but we had several days of cold rain between the day I started the harvest and the day I got the last of the carrots out.

I grew my carrots in my raised bed this year. The soil is not too dense, and carrots grow pretty well in it. This is the raised bed before I started the harvest.

DSCN6925.JPG

The ground was not packed, so the carrots came out without too much work. I harvested the first section of the raised bed, the part that gets shade from the plum tree. The rail car makes a nice movable platform for the tote I used to put the carrots in after pulling them.

DSCN6926.JPG

I got lots of little carrots from the first section, perhaps because of the shade. Of course, they're still edible.
DSCN6927.JPG

I got a fair amount of carrots from the first section, considering their size.

DSCN6928.JPG

I had to wait a few days to harvest the second section due to the weather. I didn't get any pictures of that because it was getting dark by the time I was done for the day.

The third section harvest kind of surprised me. I wasn't expecting all that much due to the late planting and lower germination rate, but I got a lot of really nice carrots from the last section. This photo is from right after I finished pulling the last of the carrots.

DSCN6932.JPG

Here's a picture of the complete harvest. I was keeping all the carrots in the greenhouse to keep them cold, but not risking getting frozen.

DSCN6934.JPG

I sorted through the carrots and separated the little ones from the rest, and also separated the white carrots from the rest. To me, the white carrots are not as good tasting as the rest of them. I only grow them because they're part of the mix when you buy the "variety" seed packages.

I don't have enough storage space for all the carrots in my basement refrigerator, so I put all of the good sized ones in first and left the small ones that wouldn't fit, and the white ones out in the greenhouse. I covered them up with old towels to keep the light off them. It's cold in the greenhouse now, but it's not freezing in there yet. Now I just need to process all the small carrots before they freeze. I'll probably just feed most of the white carrots to the deer this year. They'll be happy to eat them.

That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

amber_yooper.png

hive garden banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency