Garden Journal, Fall Begins In The Garden

Hello, hivers and garden lovers!

It's officially fall now, so I thought I should write a short post for my garden journal. The weather has definitely changed here, it's only getting up into the high 60s and low 70s F now, with nights in the low 40s. It's supposed to get down to 39 in the next couple of nights, so the frost is not far behind. I think we've actually done well not to have already gotten frost this year.

There's only 2 things growing in my garden now, other than flowers. The carrots are still doing well, and can handle some frost at night. The tomato plants are the other thing that's still producing. I still have a few green tomatoes and a fair amount of half ripe tomatoes. Some of the tomato plants have started flowering again, which is interesting considering that it's fall now. I picked another decent batch of tomatoes today. Since they're all paste tomatoes now, I'll be making another batch of sauce with them.

Here's a wide view of the garden taken today. The squash plants are dead, but I haven't gotten around to picking up the squash yet. You can see that the runner beans are still alive and doing well. None of the seed pods have started to get dry yet, I may have to wait until after the frost for that to happen. The marigolds seem to like this fall weather, they're continuing to bloom.

DSCN5658.JPG

The paste tomato plants are still doing well, although the Blue Beech tomatoes are almost done producing. The Romas still have a lot of tomatoes getting ripe, hopefully before it frosts and kills the plants.

DSCN5660.JPG

I picked tomatoes from the Big Momma hybrid paste tomato plants. These seem to be a late season plant, they're finally getting ripe. The other 2 rows of plants are done producing except for a couple of stragglers.

DSCN5661.JPG

The tomato plants in the greenhouse are almost done now also. There's only a few tomatoes left on the Amish Paste plants. The Romas still have some tomatoes left that are ripening.

DSCN5663.JPG

As you can see, the marigold bed is quite happy with the cooler weather. I really should mark the plants so that I can save seeds from the plants with the yellow flowers. The orange flowers are the much more common color here.

DSCN5662.JPG

One more picture for you. This is what happens when you dump the non cooked tomato seeds and skins from your processed tomatoes into the compost heap. 😃

DSCN5664.JPG

That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency