This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Planting Tomatoes in a Pot - One of the Most Popular Way to Plant Tomatoes

PhotoCollage_1641621907005.jpg

Greetings!

Today, there are lots of ways of planting tomatoes aside from the traditional way of planting them. I have seen tomatoes being planted in hydroponics style and some use pots to plant their tomatoes. I would love to try hydroponics but I don't have the materials and the knowledge to start, so, I decided to try to plant tomatoes in a pot.

This is actually my second attempt to plant tomatoes in a pot, the first one was about more than two years ago (if I remember it right) when I was still living in a city. And far as I remember I the first tomatoes that I planted in a pot were not able to bear fruit.

By the way, this is actually a very late blog, which I did last December. And for those who are able to follow my blog I have already some tomatoes already bearing fruits in my vegetable garden. I want to try planting tomatoes in a pot because I want to know if it will suit me best than in a garden setting.

Preparing to plant

Just like what I did on the bell pepper that I planted in a pot. I first prepared the materials that I needed in planting tomatoes in a pot.

I got some ripe tomatoes from my kitchen. As you can see in the photo below, I got more than ten pieces of ripe tomatoes, only a few pieces of these will be planted in a pot and the rest will be planted as additional crops in my vegetable garden for harvest continuity.

Some ripe tomatoes to be planted
20211215_132637.jpg

The black soil that I am going to use to plant tomatoes is left-over from the bell pepper that I also planted in a pot.

Black soil as germinating medium
20211215_132538.jpg

Since I only want to plant tomatoes in two pots, all the remaining tomatoes will be planted in my vegetable garden.

Pot for planting tomatoes
20211215_132619.jpg

For easy and quick planting of tomatoes, I already sliced some tomatoes to be planted. If you are going to try and copy what I did here, you can definitely slice the tomatoes at thin as possible without damaging the seeds.

Sliced the ripe tomatoes
20211215_133035.jpg

Planting the tomatoes

I first added some starting soil (black soil) in a pot, about 80 percent of the pot.

Putting sone black soil in a pot
20211215_132733.jpg

Then I gently pressed down using my back finger to firm the black soil.

20211215_132842.jpg

Then I put three sliced tomatoes in a triangle position. You can definitely put less sliced tomatoes if you want.

Putting some sliced tomatoes
20211215_133059.jpg

Then add some black soil on top of the sliced tomatoes.

Adding some black soil on top of the tomatoes
20211215_133123.jpg

Then gently press down again using my back fingers.

Pressing down gently
20211215_133154.jpg

Then gently water it so that the soil and the tomatoes will not be disturbed.

Watering the tomatoes
20211215_133212.jpg

And it is done.

Below is a short video of me planting the second batch of tomatoes on the second pot.

Here's a short video of me planting tomatoes in a pot


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional