Continuing my Weeding Season and Planting my Fist Black Seeded String Beans for the Year

Greetings

Today is the day that I am going to plant my first black seeded string beans for the year but before planting I have to weed out the section of my vegetable garden where I am going to plant (which is actually the exaction section where I planted my first ever black seeded string beans last year).

Last year I got mixed results in planting black seeded string beans. Some of them were ravaged by leaf miners, some got slight leaf miner attack, some does not. It was a learning process since last year in my first time planting black seeded string beans ever.

This year, I hope to prevent leaf miner attacks on my black seeded string by introducing companion crops which are the Jicama, Jicama's leaves and its root crop or tuber are known to contain Rotenone used in insecticides and pesticides, but their root crops or tuber is very edible and very delicious too when chilled.

Weeding Out

Below is the section of my garden that I am going to weed out today. I was actually very early to start weeding out because we have some family commitments to attend at 9:30 a.m., I started at exactly 6:00 a.m. in the morning.

The section of my vegetable garden that I am going to weed out

20220413_055958.jpg

Since we got a family commitment coming I worked double time in weeding out and after less than thirty minutes here's now what the section of my vegetable garden looks like (photo below).

The section of my vegetable garden after weeding out for about less than thirty minutes

20220413_063307.jpg

After another fifteen minutes here's now how it looks like, it is now almost finished (photo below).

Here's now how it looks like after another fifteen minutes of weeding out

20220413_070623.jpg

And after less than an hour weeding is now finished and I am now ready to prepare the soil in which I am going to plant my first black seeded string beans for this year.

Here's now how it looks like after I finished weeding out

20220413_074421.jpg

And here's a side-by-side comparison of the before and after of the section of my vegetable garden that I just weed out.

Before After

Planting Black Seeded String Beans

I actually germinated in advance the black seeded string beans that I am going to plant today. I actually almost forgot to set aside some of these seeds.

These seeds are actually quite fast to germinate. I germinated them by wrapping them in a wet cloth, these seeds germinated the next day.

The Black Seeded String Beans that I am going to plant
20220413_081130.jpg

The soil that I am going to use is a combination of normal soil and compost which I took from one of my relatives weeks ago.

This is the soil that I am going to use
20220413_080631.jpg

Before I put the soil I have to dig holes on the elevated soil where I am going to plant my black seeded string beans.

Here's a short video of me after I dug holes on the elevated soil where I am going to my black seeded string beans

After I dug the holes I put the soil on all of the holes (just enough to make the germination of the seeds continue).

Putting soil into the holes
20220413_080735.jpg

After that, I again need to dig about an inch of the hole into the soil to plant the black seeded string beans.

Dig an inch deep hole into the soil
20220413_081237.jpg

I put two black seeded string beans in each of the holes just to make sure that the black seeded string beans will survive.

Putting the germinated seed
20220413_081311.jpg

I covered it with soil the water them well. If all of them survive they should come out of the soil within twenty-four hours.

Watered the black seeded string beans after planting
20220413_082123.jpg

I had to put stakes all around it because my poultries are very notorious is digging on the ground.

Put stakes
20220413_083010.jpg

Here's a short video of me after I put on all the stakes

That is all for today guys, see you next time.


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2020 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency