Getting Poor Again, Damn Tax Economy: Albion Online

On returning to Albion after a period of absence, I was eager to dive back into the virtual world that fascinated me so much. The journey began enthusiastically, full of plans and expectations, but soon turned into a sequence of events that led me to face a considerable monetary loss within the game. My latest endeavor involved creating a character inspired by Thorfinn, the fearless protagonist of Vinland Saga. The idea of putting myself in the shoes of a murderous Viking warrior, exploring unknown lands and facing epic battles, seemed like an exciting and engaging adventure. After all, the anime and manga had captivated me with their scenes of intense confrontation and gripping narrative.

However, the reality of Albion was not as welcoming as I had hoped. My character, although inspired by Thorfinn, whose name is ThorfinnFinnthor, was far from being used in PVP or PVE battles. Battles that were supposed to be exciting often ended in frustrating defeats or unnecessary spending on healing. My inexperience as a player and the lack of adequate resources hampered my performance, turning the journey into a series of setbacks.

Albion Online: First Impressions in 2023, Creating Thorfinn from Vinland Saga

That's when I decided to explore a strategy that could alleviate my financial woes. The idea was simple: sell my old equipment to earn some gold and invest in better items. It seemed like a sensible decision, since better equipment would give me an advantage in battles and perhaps bring me closer to Thorfinn's glorious experience. However, what I hadn't fully considered was the complexity of the virtual economy within the game. When I put my equipment up for sale, I quickly realized that the law of supply and demand ruled this virtual world mercilessly. The price I expected to receive for my items was much higher than what buyers were willing to pay. I was confronted with the harsh reality that my perception of value was out of sync with the virtual market. Each sale transaction resulted in a considerable loss, and my gold balance continued to dwindle.

As you can see, the selling price is -91% compared to the buying price. Supply x Demand.

Frustration and regret began to build as I watched my plan unravel before my eyes. The idea of emulating Thorfinn and his grandiose journey was fading fast, replaced by the feeling of being trapped in a downward spiral of loss. Every time I tried to correct my course, it seemed that another player was conspiring to push me even further down.

For those of you who mentioned that my character was bald, for now there's still a bit 😂. That's lighting effect, and distance.

I began my journey by collecting wood in the dense depths of the forest and obtaining animal skins, such as snakes and frogs. From time to time, I came across challenging opponents, such as giant lizards, whose defeat rewarded me with a generous amount of silver. I always kept in mind the imminent threat hanging over me, so I limited my activities to neutral areas, avoiding any confrontation that could result in my character's death.

Generally, I like to go out and hunt creatures. They usually give better items and sometimes even drop simpler equipment. You also get a bit of silver, depending on how difficult the monster is. When I get a big sword and some better equipment, I intend to explore some dungeons. That's where there's a good amount of silver to be gained, not to mention the skill upgrades you get. That's how it works in Albion Online.

All the images were captured while I was playing on my cell phone
Follow me on X


┏━━━━ Versão em Português ━━━━┓

Ao retornar a Albion, após um período de ausência, estava ansioso para mergulhar novamente no mundo virtual que tanto me fascinava. A jornada começou com entusiasmo, cheia de planos e expectativas, mas logo se transformou em uma sequência de eventos que me levaram a enfrentar um considerável prejuízo monetário dentro do jogo. Minha mais recente empreitada envolvia a criação de um personagem inspirado em Thorfinn, o destemido protagonista de Vinland Saga. A ideia de me colocar na pele de um guerreiro viking assassino, desbravando terras desconhecidas e enfrentando batalhas épicas, parecia uma aventura emocionante e envolvente. Afinal, o anime e o mangá haviam me cativado com suas cenas de confrontos intensos e narrativa envolvente.

No entanto, a realidade de Albion não era tão acolhedora quanto eu esperava. Meu personagem, embora inspirado em Thorfinn, cujo o nome é ThorfinnFinnthor estava longe de ser utilizado em batalhas PVP ou PVE. As batalhas que deveriam ser emocionantes muitas vezes terminavam em derrotas frustrantes ou gastos desnecessários com curas. Minha inexperiência como jogador e a falta de recursos adequados prejudicavam meu desempenho, transformando a jornada em uma série de reveses.

Albion Online: First Impressions in 2023, Creating Thorfinn from Vinland Saga

Foi quando decidi explorar uma estratégia que poderia aliviar meu infortúnio financeiro. A ideia era simples: vender meus equipamentos antigos para ganhar algum ouro e investir em itens melhores. Parecia uma decisão sensata, já que os equipamentos melhores me dariam uma vantagem nas batalhas e, quem sabe, me aproximariam da experiência gloriosa de Thorfinn. No entanto, o que eu não tinha considerado completamente era a complexidade da economia virtual dentro do jogo. Ao colocar meus equipamentos à venda, percebi rapidamente que a lei da oferta e demanda regia esse mundo virtual de maneira impiedosa. O preço que eu esperava receber por meus itens era muito superior ao que os compradores estavam dispostos a pagar. Fui confrontado com a dura realidade de que minha percepção de valor estava fora de sintonia com o mercado virtual. Cada transação de venda resultava em uma perda considerável, e meu saldo de ouro continuava a diminuir.

Como pode ver, o preço de venda está -91% se comparado ao preço de compra. Oferta x Demanda.

A frustração e o arrependimento começaram a se acumular à medida que eu via meu plano se desfazer diante dos meus olhos. A ideia de emular Thorfinn e sua grandiosa jornada estava se desvanecendo rapidamente, substituída pela sensação de estar preso em uma espiral descendente de prejuízo. Cada vez que eu tentava corrigir meu curso, parecia que outro jogador conspirava para me empurrar ainda mais para baixo.

Para aqueles que mencionaram que meu personagem era careca, por enquanto ainda tem um pouco 😂. Isso é efeito de luz, e distância.

Iniciei minha jornada coletando madeira nas densas profundezas da floresta e obtendo peles de animais, como cobras e sapos. De tempos em tempos, me deparei com desafiadores oponentes, como lagartos gigantes, cuja derrota me recompensava com uma generosa quantia de prata. Mantive sempre em mente a iminente ameaça que pairava sobre mim, por isso limitei minhas atividades a áreas neutras, evitando qualquer confronto que pudesse resultar na morte de meu personagem.

Geralmente, eu gosto mais é de sair por aí caçando criaturas. Elas costumam dar itens melhores e às vezes até largam equipamentos mais simples. Fora que a gente consegue um pouco de prata, dependendo de quão difícil é o monstro. Quando eu conseguir uma espada grande e uns equipamentos melhores, pretendo explorar umas masmorras. É lá que contém uma boa quantidade de ganhos em prata, sem falar nos upgrades de habilidades de maestria que a gente ganha. É assim que a coisa funciona no Albion Online.

All the images were captured while I was playing on my cell phone
Me segue no X


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency