Playing Dota 2 again - OMG what have I done?


DotA 2 - I have never encountered more rage and insults in any onther game. But yet I have played it almost 1000 hours - Quit - and returned after a 4 year break...

dota2header1024x576.jpg


What is Dota 2 ?


In the unlikely case that you do NOT know what Dota is, Dota is described as follows:

Dota 2 is a multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA). The game is a sequel to Defense of the Ancients (DotA), which was a community-created mod for Blizzard Entertainment's Warcraft III. Dota 2 is played in matches between two teams of five players, with each team occupying and defending their own separate base on the map. Each of the ten players independently controls a powerful character, known as a "hero", who all have unique abilities and differing styles of play. During a match players collect experience points and items for their heroes to successfully defeat the opposing team's heroes in player versus player combat. A team wins by being the first to destroy the other team's "Ancient", a large structure located within their base.

Source

The later released but a bit more popular "competitor" League of Legends by Riot Games is based on the same principles.


What does Dota make so special?


Not many other games comply with the term "easy to learn - hard to master" as good as Dota (Except LoL or StartCraft maybe).
The basics are learned within half an hour. Learning to use every 119 heroes and his/her up to 6 unique skills are something complete different.
Not only this is something that needs to be mastered, but also the map itself and its strategic characteristics and the ~155 obtainable items that can be equipped need to be considered.
Last but not least, ever hero has its friends and foes on the battle field. Knowing how to beat your enemy is essential.
This and the strong team play capabilities make this game really deep regarding mechanics and enjoyable when winning with friends.

By the way... there is a documentary about Dota that can be watched freely on YouTube. Even if you have never played it, I recommend it to evey gamer and eSports fan


My first game after 4 years


So, after 4 years ob absence - stopped playing because of the huge amount of time I needed to invest - I came back to check out what's new. Lets take a look together :)

dota1.png
Ah yes the start screen. Nothing has changed here for the last 10 years I guess

dota2.png
Phew... some new heroes here and there. I remember that there was an achievement when you won a game with every single hero. Back then, when I achieved it, there were like 100 heroes or so. Took me about 250 games to complete it. (Yes, I suck with some heroe soooo bad). Definetly more than 150h of playtime...

dota3.png
Never saw this guy before. At leat there are now ingame guides that help you placing you skillpoints and with the item selection. Very usefull to newcommers.

dota4.png
However, I started a Bot match. Buhu a bot match... play against real players!
Nah. I always hated it when newbies directly jumped into the game and pulled the whole team down.
Rather play a bunch of bot matches to catch up with new skills and mechanics before getting stomped into the ground by basically ever other player.
Since I obviously have a custom skin for Phantom Assassin I picked her. Starting items can now be purchased in the pick phase. Cool.

dota7.png
New rune spots and new spots for pacing wards. Ok, nice. (Wards are items that can be placed on the map to reveal enemies)
Also new for me. Neutral monsters on the map now have the chance to drop various items that can be placed in a special item slot in your inventory.
Aaaaaand you get three teleport scrolls for free at the start. Unknown luxury!!!

dota5.png

A bit reveiling for me, at least against bots I don't have any troubles. The thing is, that Dota's bots are not exactly of the clever type of bots like in StarCraft. Loosing against them is not really an option.
After about 30 minutes of gametime the battle was over and my fellow bots and I brought home our first victory after a long long break... sweet memories...

dota6.png


Sad fact:
Five boring bot matches later I decided to switch to unraked matches. Playing with and against real players.
For the next two hours (three matches) I got my ass kicked so hard that I felt like the biggest noob on earth. Facing skills and heroes I had no idea of what they are doing and getting yelled at because I placed wards on the wrong position.

Now I remember why I have have quit playing Dota 4 years ago. I guess I need to practice and relearn some things again :D

But... I mean... there are medals now...
dota8.png
MEDALS!
EVERYONE wants medals! I need to fight my way through!


Do YOU play Dota 2, are resistant to noob-questions, and want to team up? Drop me a comment with you Steam-Name and let's play together!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency