PS Plus membership expired: Gonna go a month without it

So for most of 2023 I was writing about how much I loved having a PS Plus membership because it allows me access to hundreds of games at once and many that I would never have considered playing in the first place. This much is true but recently I logged in to find that almost all of my games were in accessible because of the fact that my membership had run out at some point in December when I was going through my lull where I didn't feel like playing any games. At least that was a good time for that to happen and there were no surprises.


image.png
src

When I first found out that it had expired I was a bit distressed because I hate using credit cards for anything. There is always the gift card route of course and that is what I will likely do in the future. While I was contemplating heading down to the corner minimart that actually sells PS gift cards for some reason, I had an epiphany. How about I just play one of the older games that I paid for in the past instead of re-upping a membership that I was kind of getting tired of anyway?

One of those games is Witcher 3 and it is one of those games that I played a ton of but then put the controller down for too long and when I logged back in I didn't remember any of the controls.


image.png
src

There are a ton of people out there that believe that this is one of the greatest games ever made and maybe before I go and spend whatever the hell it costs for another year of PS-Plus Extra, perhaps I should devote some time to just one game instead. I do remember enjoying it and thinking that the story and voice acting was pretty damn great, so why not?

You see, while I do enjoy the PS-Plus membership it does have one particularly bad downside for gamers like me. Because I have access to so many games that are constantly being updated every couple of weeks, I tend to give up on games VERY RAPIDLY. You may recall my blog where I was playing games for "at least an hour" and for almost all of these games, this is exactly how long I would play them for. This would happen during certain games where I probably hadn't even gotten to the meat and potatoes of the game in an hour yet anyway.

I don't know how many good games I have managed to completely bypass because of this but I am sure it is a lot. When I have so many games in my arsenal, it is very easy for me to simply move on to the next one and the next and the next. All the while I never really ever get involved in the story of any of the games and rarely complete them. The last game I can recall playing from start to finish was Ghost of Tsushima and Horizon Forbidden West. These games are quite similar to Witcher 3 so perhaps it would be a good idea for me to hold off on renewing my membership until I have completed this game.

So that is my plan for now. I have the money for PS-Plus but I think that the way that subscription model works might actually be a major reason why I have lost interest in gaming altogether. I never stay focused on one story long enough for it to fully dawn on me how great the game really is.

So that's my plan for the next month or so because at the rate that I play games, it will likely take me at least a month to finish a game that is as long as W3 is. An hour a day or so is about all I ever dedicate to gaming anyway.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency