One of my favorite recent games is $5 right now (PS4)

I wrote quite some time ago about how I thought that Yoku's Island Express was an extremely fun and innovative game the likes of which we don't see very often. I paid something like $20 for it when a friend recommended it to me a year and a half ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. Now that is is a mere $5 on the PlayStation store, I can't really see any reason to not get your hands on it.


src

For hardcore gamers out there this might not be your cuppa, but for those that appreciate a game that is truly innovative, casual, and fun, look no further. Yoku's went and made a very odd combination of platforming, metroidvania, and pinball into a game that on paper probably sounded completely crazy, but in the end it simply works.


src

You play the role of Yoku who is a beetle that has just arrived on this island and has become the new postmaster. It is a silly story, but the idea that the beetle is a postmaster at least gives us a reason why it is that he/she has to run around to various parts of the island, discovering new areas and along the way opening up new powers.

The exploration is pretty fun and at times can be challenging because unlike other platformers, you cant jump because of the gigantic pinball that you are carrying around with you for reasons I do not remember: It might not ever even being explained.


src

In order to reach certain areas there are bumpers or booster pads that you will have to unlock either by game progression (similar to picking up a new ability in a metroidvania game) or by unlocking it by acquiring fruit to exchange but don't worry, that fruit is all over the place and the game is specifically designed so that you will have more than enough fruit to unlock all the bumpers.

The highlight of the game isn't the exploration though, it is the pinball sections - of which there are many and the "boards" are all varied and innovative, some of them are even bosses.


src

I have completed this game multiple times, but I still find myself going back and doing another playthrough and I gotta say, this is actually very rare for me. It is not often that I ever return to a game that I have already defeated after the NES days. I can't think of any modern-era game that I have re-played other than one of the Rayman games and of course Yoku's Island Express.

This video is very old, but very few updates happened since the original release date in 2018 so it is essentially the same game.

I do realize that PC players could simply download the hacked version of the game for free but when someone comes along with a game this innovative and fun even though the very idea seems ridiculous, I like to reward them with some money.

Of course I was always a big fan of pinball games anyway and I suppose that would be an important aspect for anyone else out there that is considering getting involved with this. For me, it was loads of fun and a great addition to my casual games that are bit mindless and honestly, quite easy. Easy doesn't necessarily have to mean "bad" though and I am the kind of gamer that doesn't really like the super-difficult games that are all the rage with hardcore gamers these days anyway.

The sale on the PS Store is going to last for the next 2-3 weeks and after looking through the entire catalogue of games that are on special right now, I feel as though this could be the best five bucks you could spend at the moment. If you buy it and don't like it, I'll just have to owe you a Happy Meal or half a pizza. However, I truly believe that most people that play this game are going to enjoy how unique it is and will thoroughly enjoy it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency