My life with and without video games.

Back when I stopped playing games it was because they distracted me and consumed so much of my time that I couldn’t justify them, especially with all the things I wanted to do in my life.

These days it’s different. They almost feel like meditation...like a spa of the imagination.

And I’m playing much more responsibly, not like an addict anymore.

If I have 4 hours, it’s easy to focus for 3 hours and change on work and study and then spend the last 30-40 minutes playing a game.

Not only that...because I’m playing in Japanese, it’s massive motivation for me to get back to studying and getting my Japanese back above kind-of-semi-fluent.

After work yesterday it was
1 hour tax stuff
1 hour study
1 hour advertising
40 minutes gaming

On my day off it was
1 hour study
1 hour advertising
1 hour gaming
2 hours study
1 hour gaming

I got a PS3 from my friend on Sunday.

I started with Assassin’s Creed. I’m not usually into fighting games or Games from western countries but I like conspiracy stories and sci-fi stuff, plus it’s really fun climbing around buildings.

I ran into a big problem with the game though, a glitch where the missions don’t show up on the map so I have no idea where to go. It’s totally different from the walkthroughs. I tried updating, restarting and on and on but no luck.

So after 4 missions where the map worked just enough to complete and doing a bunch of side quests, I decided to forget about this game, watch a story summary on YouTube and start from Assassin's Creed 2 later this week.

I am also playing Kingdom Hearts. I am not a fan of Disney as a company and I don’t love their movies eitherbut there is a lot of nostalgia there, especially anything from the late 80s to around 2000, and I love SquareEnix, plus I like colorful RPGs that take place in non-medieval settings (think Earthbound or Mario RPG). Plus...conspiracies!!!

I love how much about mysticism and the occult influences the gaming world. Both of these games have it The more accurate the better, and also the less dark the overall world (dark storylines ok) the better.

I plan on playing 1 heavy game and 1 light game at a time. After Kingdom Hearts, I’ll try Ni no Kuni, which is a (unofficial) Ghibli animated RPG. It looks solid! After that I’ll get into the Tales of... series which I never really played before. That should keep me busy for a while.

I haven’t planned out what will replace Assassin's Creed yet but there are 4 games to play on PS3 so it’ll be a while, I may even decide to attempt all the side quests.

There are about 15 games I want to play on PS3...after that I’ll pick up a cheap Ps2 because there are a bunch of games I missed on there.

I find myself much more focused when I’m doing work now. I think it’s cause I suppressed this desire to explore other people’s imaginations through this medium for so long and now I’m going wild....for a maximum of one hour a day....usually. I might go over, but I am also studying vocabulary while I play....

In any case, work, my writing and even blogging and vlogging will take priority over gaming, but I’m free to play whenever I finish a task!

43CE4AB301BA4D8D9BDD007E9E6C639E.jpeg

I think I’m more motivated because my whole being is more relaxed when I don’t force myself not to do something I enjoy. That “do do do” mentality has always been very strong in me since I got rid of the “blah blah blah” mentality of not feeling good enough, but I think by relaxing it a little bit, I’ll actually be able to accomplish much more!

Speaking of vlogging, I’ve been promoting my YouTube, Self Help for Trolls a lot more these days. I’d love it if you could subscribe and like my videos or even recommend them to a friend. I will do my best to bring all my viewers over to Hive too! My last video was my favorite yet!

Hope you are having a good day with crypto up and everything. If you have any good stories PS3 games to recommend, please let me know!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency