Thoughts On Metroid Prime Dread - The Good & The Bad

I have seen nothing but glowing reviews for Metroid Dread and how it is nothing short of GOTY for a lot of people. After playing through the entire game myself in about 7.5 hrs, I can see the good but a lot of articles left out the bad. I wanted to share my thoughts here.

Just note, this is all opinion. If you are a hard core Metroid fan, there will be things that I didn't like that you will have loved about Dread. That should not take away from your love of the game if you truly enjoyed it.

If you would rather watch a video, you can listen to it all here:

The good:

  • Exploration was awesome
    • Figuring out how to get to different areas, puzzle solving, just exploring in general
  • Backgrounds were beautiful and amazing

    • You could see hints of bosses to come or animals moving in the background. Looked awesome
  • Lots of secrets to find

    • I am new to Metroid games otherwise this would be a no brainer
  • Plenty of upgrades both abilities and health/ rockets

    • Upgrades came at a grate pace, every 10-15 min or so you would find a new ability, rockets or something
  • Boss fights were amazing

    • Challenging with out being overly so
    • Counters causing a little cut scene where you could control the attacks was really fresh and unique
  • Chase scenes when the environment was being destroyed around was epic

The Bad:

  • Exploration was awesome but environments felt really ‘samey’

    • A lot of the areas did not stick out a ton.
    • Most were metal, cold, space station
  • None of the music while exploring was memorable

    • I personally could not recall any area that stood out because of the music
  • Exploration has hampered by the inability to back track

    • There was only forward
    • Getting a new ability would usually lock out a previous path that needed the ability you just got!
  • Game was VERY linear.

    • There was one and only one path to take.
    • Sure there are sequence breaks like early grapple, bomb and gravity suit but you would have to be a speedrunner to find any of that stuff and would not likely find skips on first playthrough
  • Boss fights were great just wish there was more of them

  • There were a lot of mini bosses we fought over and over again.

  • Lots of enemies that were re-skins.

    • It just feels lazy seeing the same enemies with MAYBE a slightly different attack ore more health but a different color.
  • Some people Loved the EMMI but I Didn’t

    • It was fine that they were one hit kill
    • The counter timing was really tight. I know, I need to Git Gud
    • When they hear you, if you go hide, the EMMI would just stay in that room
    • Emmi Would randomly just accidentally hit you
    • Lots of just waiting around or leaving the room to come back
    • After the dread faded away I was just left with annoyance.
  • Double jump was annoying

    • This one is on me, I have built up muscle memory of doing a 2nd jump at the peak of the 1st jump.
    • Needing to spin jump and fall just a bit before doing a 2nd jump threw me off and I just didn't like the way it felt.

Conclusion:

I know the things I brought up were small. That is because they are. Metroid Dread was a great game and I think it is worth playing. There were just some sticking points for me that I wanted to mention.

I hope you enjoyed the game and this review!

Also I am new to Hive, I will keep testing posting content here to see how it goes. So far everybody has been super welcoming and I appreciate it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency