[Pusen Plays] Hellpoint - Episode 2 | Exploring And Taking On The Second Boss


After having defeated the first boss I continue my run through Hellpoint. In this episode we unlock the hub area where we can upgrade and modify our gear in different ways. It also features some options to alter the world to make it harder but at the same time more rewarding. Pretty cool.

2021-06-21_1238_2.png

I'm definitely liking this game better the more I play it. It's the similarities that it had to Dark Souls that gets to me the most. The weakest thing about the game so far has to be the bossss. They look cool and has some pretty cool attacks but they're not really that hard. Learning their move sets are trivial at best and as long as you don't get stressed they're quite easy. Out of the two bosses I've encountered so far they haven't cost me any deaths yet.

I'm not really a big fan of the whole ghost mechanic either. Those who watched the last episode will remember the green ghost man, which is a copy of myself, that spawned when I died. He will patrol the area where you died and attack you on sight alongside all the other enemies that are there. While I think that you should get punished for dying i don't think this is the right way. Adding another relatively hard enemy to the encounter that just killed you can be a big hindrance. You're gonna have to fight this really tough enemy that killed you AND yourself at the same time. I can see this being a wall for many players.

I also like how you have a sort of completion counter in the game. As we encounter new enemies, open up new areas and find lore objects there's a counter going up counting how many percent of information we've unlocked. I've always been a fan of games adding completion counters to games so that's pretty cool.

There's also a fair amount of secrets and hidden items scattered throughout the world so that you really feel rewarded for exploring. For instance by going a little ways off the beaten path I found an item that greatly increased my health which is really helpful.

I think I've managed to fix the audio problems now. There should be a better balance between the voice and in-game audio now. As always any kind of consctructive feedback is very welcome. Be harsh if you have to!

The game is great fun but I hope we encounter some tougher enemies soon. Enjoy the episode!

2021-06-21_1237_2.png


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency