A new Hunter has arrived... "TheHunter: Call of the Wild" - First kills and thoughts

Hi and welcome back to my blog.

I saw this game when it came out years ago but never got to play it. But that changed today. I bought the game on the steam weekend sale along with a couple of DLCs to assist me in the game.

Learning the Basics

This first hour of gameplay was for learning the basics and getting familiar with the controls. My first mission was to track, spot and harvest an animal. I shot at a Moose who was eating grass, I aimed at around the lungs but don't think my weapon was made to hunt those.

He ran away injured and I couldn't find it afterwards.

I found another animal, it was a "Whitetail deer", much smaller than the previously spotted moose. So, I took a shot at his lungs and he was down within a few meters from where I shot him.



After 5 mins or so a moose and a black bear came out from the bushes close to me. I grabbed my shotgun and aimed at the bear. It took 4 shots to hunt that bear.






This ammo type was not recommended for hunting bears. So, I need a better weapon for large animals and predators. Although I can hunt them with my current weapons and ammo as that will not be an ethical kill and I will lose trophy points for that.

I found another bear resting and eating in the long grasses. I snuck up to him and fired on him with my 12 Gauge shotgun and he was down with only one shot this time.




I did three missions as they were easy, one of them was unlocking an outpost so I can fast travel and buy supplies from there and the other one was visiting a watchtower and surveying an area. Both were super easy.



I love the map in this game, it is beautifully created with a sense of realism. Also, the hunting mechanism like listening to sounds, tracking footsteps, luring the animals with calls etc all seems to be very well done by the developers.

One time I was tracking an injured whitetail deer with my Dog and we couldn't find it even after following the blood trail for a long time. This game needs patience just like in real-life hunting... I guess.



Final Thoughts


I am starting to like this game. It has the potential to be one of the best hunting games for me. I have loved hunting in games like Far Cry Primal and wanted to try a hunting simulation type of game and this looks great so far. I will do more episodes soon and will Livestream on twitch and post on youtube as well. This is going to be a big game for me in the coming.




Thanks for reading...

Until next time...

Note:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game - theHunter: Call of the Wild.
  • Text dividers are from HiveGaming discord and @cryptosharan

I am part of these awesome communities/servers on Hive. Feel free to join.


Click on the banner to join


Click on the banner to join


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency