Ultima Online - The Start of a Virtual life

Hello Everyone !!!

DURBAN POISON AND BANANA BLAZE WEEK #1 (7).jpg

Just thinking about sharing my first online experience already gave me goosebumps.

It all started 16 years ago... It was a normal day at school, until i realize that everyone is talking about this new "online" game.

So finally a friend who already started playing some days ago, started explaining me about the game... "dragons, warriors, secret places, giant demons, ambushes, wizards, awesome loot and much more !"
i was like WOWW..... this is stupid.

But i ended up giving it a try...

In my head i had some Lord of the rings graphics going on, with some amazing effects, and i was kinda excited to see it...

Then i got this :


The first impression

image.png

Man i almost lost here. I laughed so much when saw this. It was way under my expectations. The game had a pretty generic character creation menu. My friend was insisting badly for me to stop making fun of it and start paying attention. After creating my first character called "Batata", that means potato, i went directly for my first kill and things got crazy when i realized that everyone was walking around the city bank and my friend was like "hey, look, that's Gabriel from our school" This was the exact moment that i understood what was going on, and i was like... This is gonna be gold..


My first online kill

image.png

After not more then a few hours playing and training on easy skeletons, he showed me the "britain graveyard". Here people would fight for death in order to steal all your equipment. It is a hardcore game. It happens that there was a guy with almost no health left there fighting a ghost, and i went up and attacked him, he got trapped trying to escape and eventually died for me and the ghost. I was looting his corpse and my just new gear when some other people showed up and started attacking me. I started running through the forest until i could get them out of sight, and when it happens, i realized my heart was at probably 4304 BPM. Man, the adrenaline was incredible, i had never felt that in any game before.


First time Scammed online

image.png

Well not everything was fun. I was a pretty innocent kid by that time. After being into the game for a few months, i ended up finding some really nice stuff, and leveled my character pretty well too. It was when an "online ""friend"" offered me to buy my account for R$ 500,00. That was more money then i had ever seen with that age, and i accepted. Get in mind that i used to hunt together with this "friend" almost everyday. He even showed me a program called "Roger Wilco" that was some sort of disccord back them. Well, he insisted in logging into my account to check my skills and some other stuff like runebooks etc... said it would take only 5 minutes. i was blind by the easy money and sent him my ACC and PW. Guess what hahahaha... yup i lost it all. I managed to recover my character a few days later, but all the itens were gone =[.


Scamming back with my friend @panachao

image.png

Man.. this game was just a piece of art. There was a spell called "incognito" that would switch your name for a random new one for a few minutes. At this point we, dressed as fisherman, would arrive into the crowded bank and...
"Hey, i got my last earth book to sell". Earth book was a pretty rare item, that was worth a lot. We would buy a regular book on the NPC, and change it's name to "a book of the earth" that was the rare item name. Even the collour was completely different, a few people who had never seen it, and though were geting it for a cheap prize would end geting robbed. After the successfull sale, we would leave the screen and come back a few minutes later with a completely different cloth, hair collour and name. Please don't be this guy like we were. It was INCREDIBLY FUN doing this by that time, but later i would learn how piece of shit i was by doing these things... aw man but we had fun doing it.


About my life at this point..

image.png

At this point my priorities became gaming. I could not stop playing it. I could not sleep. I was not studying anymore. At school we would just talk about the game, and nothing else, the teachers would get us all out of class due unstopable talking, every single class and day. I stop going out a lot with my friends in order to keep playing. Even on the weekends.. I just couldn't control it any more. I was so into the game, that i already knew how to dupe itens, make infinite gold, infinite runes, invade peoples house and much more you can imagine... that almost cost me an entire school YEAR... a few times. I think after i started playing it, the next 3-4 school years my grades went from 7-10 to 5-6. The internet was dialed, so while i played, nobody could use the telephone in my house. When my parents got a 2 line, i would play the game while talking to my friend on the phone hunting together. Well my phone bills exploded, and that was another problem i had to solve...


How it ends...

image.png

Luckly, the server we used to play went down. There was just no news about it anymore. It simply died, and everything was gone with it..
I felt empty at this point, and realized how much stuff i lost and missed while playing it non stop...
The server was Called ZULU HOTEL CANADA.


Would i go back and do it all again ?

NO DOUBT I WOULD DO IT ALL AGAIN. IT WAS THE BEST MOMENT IN MY LIFE AND I MISS IT EVERYDAY.

lol =P


Bye.

Thanks everyone for reading and @pusen for showing up with this amazing and nostalgic contest.

See you guys around, Peace !

An awesome music to say goodbye !


source : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

unfortunately i formated my PC so many times that i have lost all single screenshots i had from this game. Had to use pictures from the internet.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency