Gaming - Dauntless

During the new, long wait for New World, we found another game to keep us occupied!

My brother does some streaming on Twitch from time to time and this week, he was playing Dauntless. Hubby saw, hubby was interested, hubby reluctantly made an Epic Games account and hubby and I downloaded this free to play game (I don't think you actually need an Epic Games account for it though...).

Playfulfoodie gaming Dauntless

So, we've been playing this game for two days now and although the idea is simple, it manages to keep our attention. Basically, you have a hub with vendors and crafting areas (see image above) and you can travel to various islands to kill big beasts. There are quests, dailies, bounties and there's a... I think it's called 'Hunters pass', which you can buy into to get extra rewards. I'm passing on that though.

Playfulfoodie gaming Dauntless

You have various weapons at your disposal, most of which are melee, with the exception of dual guns. I tried them, didn't like them and decided what the heck, I'll go melee. I'm playing with fist weapons!

Playfulfoodie gaming Dauntless

So, you kill big beasts, gather materials, craft better armor and weapons and kill bigger beasts. Oh, and there's potions and pilons to craft too and you can upgrade your gear by filling bonus slots with various benefits. Your standard game gear customization.

Playfulfoodie gaming Dauntless

The beasts do various big attacks, knock you down, hurt like heck and can be quite fast. Combat, therefor, is also quite fast which makes this game very intense for me and wears me out a little. I should play less than I do now, but still want to keep playing this game.

Playfulfoodie gaming Dauntless

There's various game modes. The regular hunts take place on an island that spawns random beasts and respawns them in certain areas aswell, so you'll be able to fight a lot and run around, gathering in the meantime. These islands will also spawn events. Sometimes you'll get a stronger beast to fight, or you'll get an event where you have to fight various beasts to eventually open up a chest with bigger rewards. You can make a party to enter these islands and they will get filled up with other parties/players. I think an island holds around 5 players. You can enter/leave at any time and might enter a new map, or one that already has some others fighting random beasts. You can join the others, or hunt beasts with your own party.

Playfulfoodie gaming Dauntless

There are also Escalations. We did one yesterday and it's basically a set path in which you fight various beasts with increasing level and difficulty. In Escalations, after each beast, you can get an extra buff for the instance (kinda like Torghast in WoW). You can level up your Escalation experience, which also allows you to set extra bonuses for you next Escalation experiences.

Playfulfoodie gaming Dauntless

Overall, I guess the idea of the game is pretty simple, but we are enjoying it so far. The combats can be a little hectic, but I guess that depends on the gamer (I'm too slow for this stuff!). The game is free to play, but ofcourse, there's plenty to buy in the store to make your game life a little easier/prettier. We've only been playing for two days now, so I'm not sure if there's more to the game than what I've told you so far. But it being free and all, it's easy enough to try for yourself!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency