An SSD changes your life. Don't even think about buying it, just do it.

IMG_20210415_092811-01.jpeg

Today marks my first month since I was able to acquire an SSD and the truth is that I am very happy with it. A few months ago, I was able to build my own pc, a pretty decent pc compared to the one I was using before. The only thing that my new PC inherited from the previous one were its mechanical hard disks. These hard disks are already many years old, I can hardly remember what era they are from, but they are quite old. Despite having 16 gb of ram, a processor with many cores, I felt that my computer was quite slow. I knew that SSDs outperformed mechanical hard drives by far, but I didn't think I needed them. As time went by my computer got slower and slower, to the point of despair, in fact I preferred to leave my PC on all night to avoid wasting time with the boot up, which took forever. It took 10 minutes to turn my PC on and off, in 10 minutes I could read a couple of chapters of a book, even do some exercise. I got used to my slow PC, opening and closing my browser also took a long time, my games took many minutes to start, even starting paint to cut out a screenshot was a snail's pace.

Everything has a limit, that day I couldn't take it anymore and decided to save some money to buy an SSD. To be honest, I don't think I had ever made such a good decision in my life. My PC went from taking 10 minutes to turn on and off, to only 9 seconds. My life changed completely, and so did my PC.

The SSD I purchased is not the fastest out there, even the brand of my SSD is Chinese and is not well known, but that does not detract from it. Read and write speeds range from 250 MB/s to 500 MB/s, speeds that beat the crap out of my mechanical hard drives. If you're planning on getting an SSD, go for it. The experience you will have using an SSD will be out of this world, just touch the game you want to play and in a couple of seconds, it will be booted.

But it's not just about fast starts, it's also about fast loads. One game I play a lot is League Of Legends. This game used to take a couple of minutes to start a custom game. Now it only takes 10 seconds, even less. In Albion Online, a game where it is very necessary to be attentive at all times, when passing territory, the loading screens are not delayed at all.

8 seconds - League Of Legends
4 seconds - Lost Relics
Screenshot 2021-04-15 08-30-29.pngScreenshot 2021-04-15 15-26-39.png

If I had to give a negative point to an SSD, it is its price. They are much more expensive than mechanical disks and have less capacity, but they are infinitely faster, so we will have to pay a little more, but it will be totally worth it. In addition to all this, an SSD is much more compact, lighter and quieter than a mechanical hard disk, remember that a mechanical disk works with several parts in constant motion, which generates vibration in the disk and any part that fails, prevents the proper functioning of this.

IMG_20210415_093003.jpg

I wasn't planning to do a post about this, but today I did maintenance on my PC and I couldn't help but think how lucky I am thanks to my SSD, I think I will propose marriage.

If you feel that your PC is slow, for sure the only thing you should do is to get an SSD, I'm sure your PC will feel like new and you will be able to give it a second life. I believe that tomorrow there will be an update for League Of Legends, which will bring several changes and with it, a new champion. I will probably make a small post talking about her and her abilities, although it all depends on how I feel. With nothing more to say, see you my boomers!


Spanish


Hoy se cumple mi primer mes desde que pude adquirir un SSD y la verdad es que estoy muy contento con él. Hace un algunos meses atrás, pude armar mi propia pc, una pc bastante decente en comparación a la que venía utilizando con anterioridad. Lo único que mi nueva PC heredó de la anterior, fueron sus discos duros mecánicos. Estos discos duros ya tienen muchos años, casi ni puedo recordar de que época son, pero son bastante antiguos. A pesar de contar con 16 gb de ram, un procesador con muchos núcleos, sentía que mi computadora iba bastante lenta. Sabía que los SSD superaban por mucho a los discos duros mecánicos, pero no creí que los necesitase. Con el paso del tiempo mi computadora se fue haciendo más y más lenta, hasta el punto de desesperarme, de hecho prefería dejar mi PC encendida toda la noche para evitar perder tiempo con el arranque, el cual duraba una eternidad. El apagado y el encendido de mi PC se demoraba 10 minutos, en 10 minutos puedo leerme un par de capítulos de algún libro, incluso hacer un poco de ejercicio. Me acostumbré a mi PC lenta, abrir y cerrar mi navegador también se demoraba mucho, mis juegos al iniciar demoraban muchos minutos, hasta iniciar el paint para recortar alguna captura de pantalla iba a paso de caracol.

Todo tiene un límite, ese día no aguanté más y decidí ahorrar un poco para adquirir un SSD. Si les soy sincero, creo que jamás había tomado una decisión tan acertada en mi vida. Mi PC pasó de tardar 10 minutos entre en el apagado-encendido, a tan solo 9 segundos. Mi vida cambió por completo, y mi PC también.

El SSD que adquirí no es el más veloz que existe, incluso la marca de mi SSD es china y es poco conocida, aunque eso no le quita mérito. Las velocidades de lectura y escritura van desde los 250 MB/s hasta los 500 MB/s, velocidades que le dan una paliza a mis discos duros mecánicos. Si tienes pensado adquirir un SSD, hazlo. La experiencia que tendrás usando un SSD será de otro planeta, solo debes de tocar el juego que quieras jugar y en un par de segundos, estará iniciado.

Pero no solo se trata de inicios rápidos, también cargas rápidas. Un juego que juego bastante es League Of Legends. Este juego se demoraba un par de minutos en iniciar una partida personalizada. Ahora mismo solo se demora 10 segundos, incluso menos. En Albion Online, un juego en donde es muy necesario estar atento en todo momento, al pasar de territorio, las pantallas de carga no se demoran para nada.

8 seconds - League Of Legends
4 seconds - Lost Relics
Screenshot 2021-04-15 08-30-29.pngScreenshot 2021-04-15 15-26-39.png

Si tuviera que ponerle un punto negativo a un SSD, es su precio. Son mucho más costosos que los discos mecánicos y poseen menor capacidad, pero son infinitamente más veloces, así que deberemos pagar un poco más, pero valdrá totalmente la pena. Adicional a todo esto, un SSD es mucho más compacto, ligero y silencioso que un disco duro mecánico, recordemos que un disco mecánico funciona con varias piezas en constante movimiento, lo que genera vibración en el disco y cualquier pieza que falle, evita el correcto funcionamiento de este.

IMG_20210415_093003.jpg

No tenía pensado hacer un post acerca de esto, pero hoy le hice mantenimiento a mi PC y no pude evitar pensar en lo afortunado que soy gracias a mi SSD, creo que le propondré matrimonio.

Si sientes que tu PC está lenta, de seguro lo único que debes de hacer es adquirir un SSD, estoy seguro de que tu PC se sentirá como nueva y podrás darle una segunda vida. Creo que el día de mañana habrá una actualización de League Of Legends, la cual traerá varios cambios y consigo, un nuevo campeón. Probablemente haga un pequeño post hablando sobre ella y sus habilidades, aunque todo depende de como me sienta. Sin más nada que decir, nos vemos mis boomers!

1
2
3
4

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency