Open TTD : A game that made me buy kids meal

2021-10-17-204623_1366x768_scrot.png

“Sometimes I limit myself to believe that most of the good games need a good computer and money to buy them ” A quote from @perceval in his article about War Brokers: a rather simple but fun game.

That couldn’t be far from the truth. I used to think the same and that made me reluctant to play any games just because I had this idea that you are not gaming when you only play simple games. But the thing is, there are many simple games that are playable and quite fun when it is played with friends.

A good friend will also never judge your device and limit themselves to playing games with you. A real friend will try to find something to play together especially when one of the friends doesn’t have a device that supports the fancy and popular games.

Prior to having a decent laptop, I was only often watching streams of my friend playing Insurgency. I really wanted to play those games too. And one day, this friend proposed the idea that we should play OpenTTD, a simulation business game. The name itself is an abbreviation from open source simulation Transport Tycoon Deluxe. If you enjoy playing simulation business tycoon, this game is quite decent to play with your friends.

In this game, you are pretending to be the transportation tycoon that attempts to connect one city to another by a bus, a train, a boat or even an airplane. But not only that, you can also build industries and connect one industry to one another. There are so many options and menus in this game that it makes you think you probably need an extra screen just to display all the boxes containing the information about your train operation. For a new player, it will take quite some time to understand what the buttons do. It was the same with me. I got confused on how to build the road, the track and the train in the game. But after a few hours playing, I finally got the hang of it. This is the screenshot from one of the games I played.

2021-10-17-204640_1366x768_scrot.png

Then, below is the box of information of the company that you're playing along with information and data of your transportation.

2021-10-17-204645_1366x768_scrot.png

In this screenshot, I am attempting to show you the feature to build the bus and the truck. All looks very small because I configured it small in my previous laptop. Sometimes, you will have plenty windows and when it happens, you can just press delete.

2021-10-17-204651_1366x768_scrot.png

When you think that it may be simple and you never go bankrupt, be prepared to experience otherwise. Even when you’re playing with more than 2 people, it’s easy to go bankrupt when you are mismanaging the vehicles. To make things more challenging while playing, you can also make a simple rule to not build airplanes as it is going to make things easier and less challenging for the game.

In this game, you can also download mods that you can play. There are so many things that you can customize which makes this game interesting to play whether solo or co-op.

After spending time playing with friends, I got addicted to playing it alone. I wanted to build my own transportation empire. For some reason, it doesn’t get boring to me but after spending 5 hours of playing, my head was spinning and my eyes were weird. So, I decided to stop playing for a while.

image.png

I spent a few days playing it ranging from 3-4 hours and then the other day when I went out to Hokben, a Japanese fast food restaurant, I found some trains on display along with the kids meal menu. So, I decided to get the menu just to get one of the toys.

image.png

The guy at the counter was quite surprised when I pointed to the kids meal. I mean, that’s quite understandable. Then, some other guys in the back of the line were like, “ yo, you can get that for your kids too”.

image.png

The guy at the counter showed some of the trains and I decided to pick the red bullet train. So yeah, this game is one of a few games that made me buy things relating to the game. Have you ever played this?

image.png

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency