Nintendo Entertainment System: My first videoconsole | Retro Gaming Challenge Blogging

Adobe_Post_20210211_1731280.5046842423883839.png

I remember as if it was yesterday the day we had it at home. It was on a vacation to Margarita Island; every year, at the end of our classes, we would go on a family vacation and receive our prizes for getting good grades.

Recuerdo cómo si fuera ayer el día que la tuvimos en casa. Fue en unas vacaciones a la Isla de Margarita; cada año, al terminar nuestras clases, nos íbamos de vacaciones en familia y recibíamos nuestros premios por haber sacado buenas notas.


Source

As a child my gift was always some Barbie and that made me very happy, and my younger brother was usually given a remote control car. But that particular year his gift was quite different: a Nintendo Entertainment System, better known as NES. This also came with an adapter, a gun and two video games, one was the best game of all, Super Mario Bros 3 and the other was Duck Hunt, the revolutionary game with which you could shoot with the gun that came with the game and if you missed a shot a malevolent dog came out to mock you.

Al ser una niña mi regalo siempre era alguna Barbie y eso me hacía muy feliz, y a mi hermano menor le regalaban, generalmente, algún carro a control remoto. Pero ese año en particular su regalo fue bastante diferente: un Nintendo Entertainment System, mejor conocido como NES. Este además venía con un adaptador, una pistola y dos videojuegos, uno era el mejor juego de todos, Super Mario Bros 3 y el otro era Duck Hunt, el juego revolucionario con el que podías disparar con la pistola que traía el juego y si fallaba algún disparo salía un perro malévolo a burlarse de ti.

The truth is that what my parents would never know is that I was doubly awarded that year, because I got my Barbie, but I also got a NES, because it was no fun to play alone, so every day when we got home from school, we would throw the backpacks and turn on the NES. Obviously my brother always picked Mario and so by default I got Luigi.

Lo cierto es que lo que mis padres nunca sabrían es que yo salí doblemente premiada ese año, porque obtuve mi Barbie, pero también obtuve un NES, porque no era nada divertido jugar solos, así que cada día al llegar del colegio, lanzabamos los morrales y encendíamos el NES. Obviamente mi hermano siempre escogía a Mario y así que por descarte me tocaba Luigi.

The most difficult thing at the time was that progress was not saved, so we always had to start from the first level. We knew every trick that could exist, where the hidden flutes, leaves and lives were, and in a matter of hours we were advancing more and more. But the best thing was not that, but my neighbor had a Famicon, so with the adapter that came with the console we could play with my neighbor's games and it was one of the best things that could happen to us at the time. We tried games like Super Mario Bros, Bomber Man and Circus Charlie, he had a series of treasures with all the video games he had, but none equaled Super Mario Bros 3.

Lo más difícil de la época era que el progreso no se guardaba, así que teníamos que empezar siempre desde el primer nivel. Nos sabíamos cada truco que podía existir, donde estaban las flautas, hojas y vidas escondidas, y en cuestión de horas ya avanzabamos más y más. Pero lo mejor no era eso, sino que mi vecino tenía una Famicon, así que con el adaptador que traía la consola podíamos jugar con los juegos de mi vecino y era una de las mejores cosas que nos pudo pasar por la época. Probamos juegos como Super Mario Bros, Bomber Man y Circus Charlie, él tenía una serie de tesoros con todos los videojuegos que tenía, pero ninguno igualaba a Super Mario Bros 3.

How cool and fun it is to talk about my first console, and this challenge has given me like a mental exercise, remembering everything I had to do with my first console.

Que genial y divertido es hablar de mi primera consola, y este reto me ha dado como que ejercicio mental, recordar todo lo he tenía que ver con mi primera consola

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency