Debugging the Sims 3

headersims.png

During the past few years being a part of the gaming community on Hive, I've tried several times to do a Legacy Challenge in the Sims 3.

The Legacy Challenge is simple: start a lonely Sim, purchase the largest block of land, build a shack with the few measly dollars you have remaining, then work to expand your home and family over time. While you're doing this you have a set of rules for determining your "heir" who will continue this family rags-to-riches story until, at last, you have a Generation Ten Sim on your hands!

I think I made it to generation three in my best playthrough, before my game crashed so hard it caused my savefile to completely vanish.

The Sims 3 is a buggy mess — even when using NRAAS mods like I've always done — and that's putting it mildly.

I decided to install the Sims 3 onto my brand new PC when I first got it and tried out starting a new Legacy Challenge, and my Founder sim hadn't even met her soulmate yet, hadn't been alive for an in-game week yet, when the game started playing up with invisible sims all over the damned place. I was really hoping that a fresh install on a fresh harddrive on a fresh computer would really just work, but alas.

I uninstalled it in a fit. XD

Then, today I reinstalled it. Because I'm a glutton for punishment.

Today is the day that I try and work this out once and for all! I will install every mod I can find, every patch, every THING, until I can at last do just one measly playthrough and get this Legacy Challenge completed once and for all!

image.png

First of all, here are the list of Important mods I've grabbed:

I normally grab NRAAS's Story Progression too but due to its aggressive-and-unwanted-matchmaking-all-single-Sims even when fine-tuned, I decided to stick with default.

Then I hopped into the files and increased RAM allocation to 4gb up from its measly 2. I could go higher, but being a 32bit game there's no point. I also allocated more VRAM.

And then, even though I don't believe it really matters, I forced this ancient game to recognise my modern graphics card.

image.png

(and, of course, I plan to launch the game without the annoying launcher in the background. AND, OF COURSE, I've capped fps to 60 since there's no fps cap in-game)

(I have image scaling on due to using a 4K monitor and wanting to actually see my otherwise tiny UI)

I also chose to not install: Into the Future, Island Paradise, or University Life.

There's more located at the following Steam Guide: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?l=brazilian&id=1131162350.

But a few of the things there didn't seem relevant to me or I had already done in another manner. Hopefully this list of stuff may help others in the future. If you know of another mod/patch/thing that I've missed, please for the love of god tell meeeeeee so I can try it. (No point getting AwesomeMod — am already using a core mod)

Now I'm going to start a playthrough. The difference between this playthrough and all my others ones is simply previously I've only used NRAAS and capped my fps. This attempt has a LOTTTTT more going on to hopefully fix things.

If you start seeing Sims 3 posts in a week or so, you'll know that I'm cautiously optimistic about my progress. If you don't see any future Sims 3 posts, then you'll know this game, even when modded/fixed/patched, is a hot piece of garbage.

 

Until next time! 🔥dumpster fire emoji🔥

Fingers crossed really tightly.

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency