NBA Top Shot: My first impressions and ⭐️⭐️ review

NBA-TOP-SHOT.jpg

If you're like me then you want to become a whale in the NFT game. I recently sold all of my Splinterlands cards like a total fool. I would've been a crypto millionaire right now if I hadn't gone all APR Defi crazy and let greed and rug pulls destroy my deck. I felt like I had been playing the game for years and nothing happened, then all of a sudden, BOOM! Cards that weren't worth a food stamp are now over $100. I even see gold cards I've sold for a few hundred bucks worth $100,000. I know I'm not the only one. Not wanting to miss out on the next great NFT opportunity, I checked out the list of top NFT projects at https://dappradar.com/nft.

open.png

I felt like most of the projects I looked at were lame and just copycats of Cryptokitties. I bought a kitty back in 2018. Is it worth something now? I think the game is so stupid that I've not bothered checking. Plus, I hate working with the Etheruem network. NBA Top Shots works on Etheurum and it shows with its sluggish operations. It costs $9 to get started. Let's see what I got...

reveal.png

Let's hope one of these is a $1 million M Jay or LeBron James NFT moment...

set.jpg

No such luck. I paid $9 for these three cards and they can be sold for $3 each so I don't feel ripped off, but I don't feel entertained either.

choose.png

NBA Top Shot made it seem that if I chose a favorite team, they'd give me a free pack.

buymore.png

I'm not a BB fan. I quit watching when Jordan retired. I do remember watching the original Dream Team kick ass in the Olympics and collected as many plastic cups from McDonald's as I could when I was a kid. I liked the movie Space Jam and played a lot of NBA Jam on the Sega Genesis too, but that is all I know or care about BB, so let's choose the Chicago Bulls.

quest.jpg

It's true they'll give you a free pack, but you better bring your credit card on this "quest" because you'll need to get three more moments from your favorite team to "earn" the pack. The cheapest moment from the Chicago Bulls was $4, so I changed my favorite team who I feel is the least liked team in the NBA, the Salt Lake City Jazz. I mean whoever liked them? You'd get beat up fast wearing their jersey when I was in middle school.

jazz.jpg

Nope. Everything is $4 at the cheapest with the Jazz too. This feels rigged. It's definitely not a decentralized free market like Splinterlands. They also have strong KYC rules. If you decide to withdraw or earn any seriously valuable moments then get your ID ready and take that selfie holding it straight without breathing standing on one foot and juggling some dates or whatever other nonsense the NBA demands.

Conclusion

I don't recommend NBA Top Shot, but I don't think it's a bad idea either. It's a centralized cash grab bullshit NFT project of the NBA. I'm not upset that I spent $9, but I will not check or think about it again for several years.

What about you?

I love Splinterlands and have only tried NBA Top Shot, War Riders, and the Upland NFT games. Are there any good NFT gaming gems that have gone under the radar?

Resources:

NBA Top Shot
https://nbatopshot.com/moment/ConversationGaming+1393fdd5-97f5-449a-a44c-98e0ecb5643b?

Dapp Radar
https://dappradar.com/nft

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency