ELDEN RING: Shadow Of The Erdtree 📽 Through the Lens

📢 FROMSOFT ARE BAD DEVELOPERS BECAUSE THIS DLC IS TOO HARD! 📢

Wait... we're talking about this again? 😂

Yes! But not right away! Shadow of the Erdtree was one of the most anticipated expansions. However, many didn't think it would actually be harder than the base game. It's obvious that said people's first Fromsoft experience was in fact Elden Ring. Nothing wrong with that, just don't be surprised when Fromsoft decides to knock the $#!% out of you. 😁

There's a lot to talk about in this DLC, the least of which is its difficulty, yet that is the topic most people seem to be focussed on. Ah, gamers... Let us, you and me, try and be more in-depth on this amazing piece of entertainment.

And so❗️ In this edition of Through the Lens 🎞, we'll be taking a look at Fromsoftware's biggest expansion to date: Shadow Of The Erdtree. ◀️

(you know, I'm thinking of proposing a ban on using the word 'Shadow' in names, isn't it overdone?)

Roll it! 📽

🔷 UP TOP 🔶

The soundtrack here is as expected. Epic, intense, amazing. I think Mr. Miyazawa has gone above and beyond and produced one of the best soundtracks fromsoft has ever been released. Fun fact: it's also amazing for D&D campaigns. 😉

Composed by the amazing Shoi Miyazawa

I played and loved Elden Ring on its release. It was the first full fromsoft game that I've played and I fell in love with it. The lore, the world, the free-form design - it all aligned with my proclivities. So you know I was looking for this DLC as soon as it was announced.

DLC? Expansion? Who cares. Stop with the semantics.

So yes, I too struggled with Shadow Of The Erdtree for a while. But as with any challenge, it is set there to be overcome. And like all well-made, well-designed challenges, it is not cheap and not easy. But therefore, it is meaningful and worthwhile to overcome.

🔷 A WHOLE NEW WORLD 🔶

I won't get into major spoilers but the lore here continues to be amazing. It concerns one of the most mysterious demigods and a realm to which they've been banished.

If you are an astute observer of the lore (as I am, hehehe) you will discover that A LOT of interesting tidbits that were beforehand enshrouded in mystery. Granted, ins some instances you will have more questions than answers but that's just how the cookie crumbles with these expansive games. 🍪

Lore aside, the map here might seem smaller than the 40$ asking price, but don't fool yourself. The levels are very vertical in nature, and there are several legacy dungeons that are worth the price of addition alone.

Not to mention the amazing bosses on display, each more dangerous and carried than the last. The way in which you can get to these bosses is also very much open-ended. In fact, I would say this expansion is even more open than the base game. As hard as it is to believe. I personally think fromsoft has gone above and beyond with this expansion.

🔷 NEW MECHANICS 🔶

Shadow Of The Erdtree provides a new scaling/leveling system. And this new system is what's causing all the hubbub about the game being too difficult. Mostly because people would go with their overpowered characters and expect to steamroll through the content. Well, fromsoft being the savvy devs they are, expected this, and implemented a new system that was exclusive to the expansion. 😮

The system doesn't take into account your previous level. And its upgrades are only available when you are inside the expansion. So yes, you cannot cheese this system in any way. Very well thought out and very well implemented.

The fact that something like this can cause such a controversy boggles my mind. In fact, let's talk about the said controversy before we wrap this up, shall we?

🔷 WHA ARE WE DOING? 🔶

I don't think there could be a more apt chapter name. I cannot believe that in 2024 other people review bombing a fromsoft game as being too difficult. Like, I actually seriously cannot believe that that actually happened. 😂😇

Review-bombing as an action in itself is sad, but when you do it to innocent devs that have put their heart and soul into making the experience... that's just uncalled for in my opinion.

Luckily, sites like Steam and Metacritic can easily just turn off that blip of negative reviews if they think the reviews are unreasonable. All review-bombing agendas are to some degree. But it shouldn't come to that in the first place.

Most of these people would not be able to survive the '90s games me and my peers grew up on. Fromsoft is a cakewalk compared to Castlevania. 😁 If I could talk to these people, I would call them each a disgrace to their face.

🔷 LEGACY 🔶

It's hard to tell how history will remember this expansion since it was released but a week ago. And while fromsoft's DLC content has been hit-or-miss in the past, I think they knocked it out of the park this time around.

Shadow of the Erdtree will just enhance the already unwavering legacy that is Elden Ring. It is the cherry on top of the Sunday icecream that made the western game dev community cringe with disbelief.

Well, I hope they are cringing harder now, because this expansion is one of the best I've played. I had so much fun. And if you re planning on playing Elden Ring for the first time, then I highly recommend you jump into he expansion once you're done with the main game.

BW twirl. png

Thank you for reading, you rock! (and maybe roll) 👏👏👏

🖼️ Image Sources: 01, 02, 03, 04 🖼️

Shout-out to the 🍕PIZZA🍕 gang, 🤙 gang. 🤙

I usually don't do columns on DLCs or expansions, but I make my own rules so there! 😜 I loved this expansion, and I had to talk about it in detail with you fine Hive folk. I also want tog et back to posting regularly, but we'll see how that will go. 😂 Hope this was a fun read!

👊 Follow me on my HIVE blog 👊

I hope you are having an amazing week! 🙌

I accidentally put up this poll and now I don't know how to remove it HALP!

Only accounts older than 100 days allowed
You may select 1 choices
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency