🦈When the Wave Runner Strikes🦈

As I’ve started attending tournaments recently, I am trying to get deeper into advanced strategies. Doing so in the ranked games turned out to be utterly stupid as it made me lose my Ranking in an unexpected pace. So I began with Practise games instead. And as there’s a Wawe Runner Challenge, I involved him in one game as well. Even though I didn’t set up my pack well, I was lucky enough to win. Literally lucky as my tank avoided most of the opponent’s attacks. Check it up yourself: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_72e9c88f41db8eff8ed6bdab2ef16204&ref=godfish

image.png

To be honest, my set was rather random. I wanted to involve more of the magic strikers but as I spent on too many mana points on the tank and Wave Runner, I could afford just the cheapest one. As I expected some Sneak monsters in my opponent’s pack, I wanted to have a card with more lives in the rear. The Pirate Captain with Snipe is a good value for the money… I mean mana of course. He has just one weakness – is rather slow.

Since my only magic monster was eliminated before it could strike itself, I basically played a game with no summoner buffs. That is a huge mistake that would most likely lose the game in a more serious duel. Fortunately, my opponent’s tank was magic resistant and not melee/range resistant, so I could damage and eventually kill it even with my debuffed cards.

Without the -1 melee debuff, Wave Runner would be a reasonable second tank in mid-mana cap games as a rather powerful Reach monster. In games where every monster has Sneak or Opportunity ability, it could play a keen role thanks to its speed, lives and damage stats. Even though this monster won’t be my first universal pick, I am quite glad I bought it. I’ll definitely have some use for it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency