Postal 2 : A review of the Controversial Game | - Postal 2: Una revisión del Polémico Juego | Eng- Esp

20220221025419_1.jpg


What is going on, my dudes and dudettes? I am here with another game review, and if you’ve read the title, then you already know what it is. Postal 2 and the Postal series have a very controversial history. However, I never played it, but when I saw it on sale over at Steam, I knew that now was the time. This was the game that actually inspired my ESRB rating article. This review is going to be shorter because honestly there isn’t a lot about this game to talk about outside of its offensiveness.

Before I begin, let me tell you a little about myself. I am very hard to offend. I have an extreme dark sense of humor and laugh at things I often shouldn’t. So when I say something is messed up, I can guarantee you I am putting it lightly.



Let me tell you a bit about the story. The game takes place over several chapters. Each chapter consists of one day of the week. Right away, I wondered what I had gotten myself into. The very first cut scene has the main character referring to his wife as a bitch. The devs even went as far as to make her name in the subtitles “The Bitch.”

20220221033555_1.jpg

Not the first cutscene



At the start of each day, you are given a set of tasks to complete, such as buying milk, paying a traffic ticket etc. And to be honest, you can complete this game doing a pacifist run, but that’s not where the fun supposedly lies in the game. The violent way is often more “fun” or meant to be that way.

20220221025954_1.jpg

Each task usually follows the same pattern: go to X place, get X item, and either fight or run your way back out of the building. The only thing that changes is the character models, which some of them can come off as offensive and when I say ‘can’, I mean do.

During the first day I had to go buy some milk. The owner of the store was a middle eastern man and wanting to explore, I went into the back room. It turns out the backroom led to an upstairs apartment. And when I went up there, I was attacked by a dozen or more women, all in Burqas. After killing them all is when I realized that this was kinda of racist.



image.png
Image Source



The next part that completely blew my mind is that there are “terrorists” who resemble Osama Bin Laden. There’s a section where they attack a church and you have priests and these terrorists fighting each other, and there is also a section where one is a suicide bomber and blows up a marching band.

20220221035825_1.jpg


The scene that made my mouth drop was an “attempted” rape one. It’s not really attempted, but you are knocked out by a bunch of hillbillies, and when you wake up, you’re in a box. The hillbillies open it up and imply they’re going to screw you. Of course they don’t, but it turns out the room you in is a sex dungeon of sorts, and when you check a nearby mirror, you’re in a gimp suit.

20220221182759_1.jpg

20220221182854_1.jpg
20220221182903_1.jpg
20220221182910_1.jpg
20220221182938_1.jpg

Where the game shines is the shock value it gives. You can literally piss on people, shove a shotgun up a cat's ass to use it as a silencer, and just the cringy dialogue that makes it obvious the devs were more interested in offending people then creating a fun and enjoyable game.

You get a bunch of weapons in this game from a shovel all the way to a machete, and seeing how all these weapons work is fun, for the first bit when you get them, but afterwards they just become boring. I think back to when I was a kid and think I would have loved the combat as you can cut off people’s limbs and watch them run or crawl away, but now I kind of find it a bit distasteful. I’m not sure why, I mean I love watching people die in RDR2, it might be just because they do death good in the game. Anyone who’s played the game knows that depending on where you shoot a person, and with what, will depend on how they die. But the thing is RDR2 doesn’t do it for shock value.

20220222013242_1.jpg

After the third day, I honestly got so bored with this game I started to fall asleep, so I decided to enable cheats, which made the game somewhat more bearable, but not by much.

Postal 2 has got to be the most gory and offensive game I have played. The game is blatantly racist and goes out of its way to be offensive. Not a lot of things offend me, but this game had me saying “what the fuck?” more than once. Despite this, it’s a game every gamer should play. Not because it is enjoyable, but because, for better or for worse, it is a part of gaming history. Now please excuse me while I go take a cold shower and curl up in the fetal position.



crying.gif
Image Source





Español

image.png


¿Qué está pasando, mis amigos y amigas? Estoy aquí con otra reseña del juego, y si has leído el título, entonces ya sabes de qué se trata. Postal 2 y la serie Postal tienen una historia muy controvertida. Sin embargo, nunca lo jugué, pero cuando lo vi a la venta en Steam, supe que ahora era el momento. Este fue el juego que realmente inspiró mi artículo de calificación de la ESRB. Esta revisión será más breve porque, sinceramente, no hay mucho de qué hablar sobre este juego fuera de su ofensividad.

Antes de comenzar, déjame contarte un poco sobre mí. Soy muy difícil de ofender. Tengo un sentido del humor extremadamente oscuro y me río de cosas que a menudo no debería. Entonces, cuando digo que algo está mal, puedo garantizarle que lo digo a la ligera.




Déjame contarte un poco sobre la historia. El juego se desarrolla en varios capítulos. Cada capítulo consta de un día de la semana. De inmediato, me pregunté en qué me había metido. La primera escena cortada tiene al personaje principal refiriéndose a su esposa como una perra. Los desarrolladores incluso llegaron a poner su nombre en los subtítulos "The Bitch".

image.png


Al comienzo de cada día, se le asigna un conjunto de tareas para completar, como comprar leche, pagar una multa de tránsito, etc. Y, para ser honesto, puede completar este juego haciendo una carrera pacifista, pero supuestamente no es ahí donde la diversión miente en el juego. La forma violenta a menudo es más "divertida" o está destinada a ser así.

image.png


Cada tarea suele seguir el mismo patrón: ir a X lugar, obtener X elemento y luchar o salir corriendo del edificio. Lo único que cambia son los modelos de personajes, algunos de los cuales pueden parecer ofensivos y cuando digo "pueden", quiero decir hacer.

Durante el primer día tuve que ir a comprar un poco de leche. El dueño de la tienda era un hombre del Medio Oriente y queriendo explorar, fui a la trastienda. Resulta que la trastienda conducía a un apartamento de arriba. Y cuando subí allí, fui atacado por una docena o más de mujeres, todas en burqas (creo). Después de matarlos a todos es cuando me di cuenta de que esto era un poco racista.



image.png



La siguiente parte que me dejó completamente alucinado es que hay “terroristas” que se parecen a Osama Bin Laden. Hay una sección en la que atacan una iglesia y tienes sacerdotes y estos terroristas peleando entre sí, y también hay una sección en la que uno es un terrorista suicida y hace estallar una banda de música.

image.png


La escena que me dejó boquiabierto fue un “intento” de violación. Realmente no es un intento, pero un grupo de paletos te noquea y cuando te despiertas, estás en una caja. Los paletos lo abren y dan a entender que te van a joder. Por supuesto que no, pero resulta que la habitación en la que te encuentras es una especie de mazmorra sexual, y cuando miras un espejo cercano, estás en un traje de gimp.

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png


Donde brilla el juego es el valor de impacto que da. Literalmente puedes orinar a la gente, meter una escopeta en el trasero de un gato para usarla como silenciador, y solo el diálogo vergonzoso que hace obvio que los desarrolladores estaban más interesados ​​​​en ofender a la gente que en crear un juego divertido y agradable.

Obtienes un montón de armas en este juego, desde una pala hasta un machete, y ver cómo funcionan todas estas armas es divertido, al principio cuando las obtienes, pero luego se vuelven aburridos. Pienso en cuando era niño y creo que me hubiera encantado el combate, ya que puedes cortar las extremidades de las personas y verlas correr o arrastrarse, pero ahora lo encuentro un poco desagradable. No estoy seguro de por qué, quiero decir que me encanta ver morir a la gente en RDR2, podría ser solo porque hacen el bien de la muerte en el juego. Cualquiera que haya jugado el juego sabe que dependiendo de dónde le dispares a una persona y con qué, dependerá de cómo muera. Pero la cuestión es que RDR2 no lo hace por valor de sorpresa.

image.png


Después del tercer día, sinceramente me aburrí tanto con este juego que me empecé a quedar dormido, así que decidí habilitar los trucos, lo que hizo que el juego fuera algo más llevadero, pero no mucho.

Postal 2 tiene que ser el juego más sangriento y ofensivo que he jugado. El juego es descaradamente racista y se esfuerza por ser ofensivo. No muchas cosas me ofenden, pero este juego me hizo decir "¿qué diablos?" mas de una vez. A pesar de esto, es un juego que todo jugador debería jugar. No porque sea agradable, sino porque, para bien o para mal, es parte de la historia de los juegos. Ahora discúlpeme mientras me doy una ducha fría y me acurruco en posición fetal.



crying.gif



banner (1).gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now