Why Borderlands is still a good game 12 years later - EN/ES

What's so special about such an old game?

If you ever managed to play Borderlands I think you'll agree with me about what I'm going to say about this great game. While the great evolution that this saga has had has been quite good and certainly have not let the game die, I want to tell you about my experience with the original Borderlands, that is, the first game of the saga, and wow it was a complete success so I hope that with everything I'll tell you will be encouraged to try it and see how great it is.

Some years ago I was very aware of Counter-Strike style games, I really like first-person shooters, however, I did not have a very good computer to play high-quality games, then I discovered Borderlands, I knew about it by the YouTubers that I most watched at that time, as we know Borderlands has been a world-renowned game. When I could see it, I was in love with it, and with it, my desire to play it was much more intense, and I managed to download it and try it.

I don't want to focus this post in telling specific details of the game, but I want you to read my experience and clearly let you know the first game of this good saga. At the beginning of starting to play it and while watching YouTube videos about the game, I could realize that its graphics are not normal.... They have something quite weird about them that make it different from the rest, it's how drawn, right? It's one thing that I quite liked, as it's not the same old same old, and honestly it gives it the personal touch that Gearbox Software wanted.

Being immersed in the world of Pandora, I feel a kind of weirdness for the landscapes that are in it, it is certainly very well done in all its ambiance and makes that when we are shooting like crazy to all the enemies in the world, everything combines perfectly. In addition, as I already mentioned, the game has great graphics for being from 2009 and the personal touch already mentioned.

I noticed that despite being a shooter, it also touches on being an RPG game, quite curious about this combination but I like it. When we start our story in single-player we can choose between four characters, each one being totally different from the other, but that's okay if you ask me to summarize what kind of characters they are, well we could say that they are not much, it's almost the same as what we could find in another game. Personally, I loved playing with Brick and Mordecai, the first one is a tank and specializes in melee combat, and the second one is a hunter or sniper, meaning he does a lot of damage from a distance, but he doesn't have a lot of life. The other two are Lillith who is a mermaid and she could be said to be a mage, the other one is Roland who could be said to be a support.

I could realize that at the beginning of our story, everything was quite linear and I really thought that the game wasn't how I expected it to be, an open-world shooter with some "freedom" but I was wrong... In the beginning, it seems to be very linear and forced, but I think it's only because I was just starting the story of the game, then I could do both primary and secondary missions at my whim, and what I do is practically up to me to choose what to do or what not to do. Something very important that I focused on doing before completing some missions or whatever is to try to collect enough experience points, those are points that give us when we kill or damage any enemy, and with it, we can level up our character and also improve some aspects.

Being a world quite full of fantasy and very strange bugs, the missions are usually very good and fun. Sometimes we get to fight robots, aliens, I don't know... I don't really know what the fuck they were XD. But it is quite original, our enemies are not humanoids at all. As I said the missions are quite interactive, I think that's the perfect word. They are not boring and for my taste, the game is not repetitive at all, on the contrary. The game has great diversity in terms of missions and we choose what to do and what not to do.

Something I want to tell you before I forget is its large planet and map, the map reminds me a lot to that of for example some Far Cry or GTA, I know they have nothing to do, but when you open it we can see all the points of interest in the game, as much nursing how weapon stores, etc.. Being such a large and extensive map we must be careful with the animals that are out there, as more than once I died because of them. Especially the giant enemies. I want to emphasize how bad I had a hard time at the beginning of the game. Wellbeing new and not having completed any missions, I didn't have access to the vehicles in the game and you don't know how annoying it is to walk from one place to another, I don't remember how many missions I had to do to unlock the vehicles, but I'm sure it was a lot.😡

All the characters both primary and secondary are perfectly realized, I didn't get to find anything wrong with them, and its map and setting are very similar to a movie, I'm sure quite a few people know it, it's called Mad Max. It reminds me a lot of being a post-apocalyptic and really scary world. Its soundtrack is also brutal, and I do not say that because there is great music when battling or doing anything, but on the contrary ... It stands out for introducing us even more in the role, what do I mean by this? The game on many occasions leaves us in gloomy absolute silence. And it really makes us get more into the role of a destroyed world, arid, lonely, certainly good work.

Borderlands is not an easy game at all, it's completely difficult and the more we advance the worse it gets... I suffered a lot with some missions, it was very stressful to have to repeat it over and over again until I could pass it. So if you are one of those people who love easy games, and you only have to do very few things to pass it, I recommend you not to play Borderlands.

The game also has a multiplayer or cooperative mode, but I'm going, to be honest... I never played that mode because it didn't really catch my attention, but I regret it... It's pretty good and fun from what I've gotten to see in some videos, so it's yet another plus point as to why Borderlands is still a great game. Thank you very much for reading this far, I hope you liked my little experience with Borderlands.

Image source:

*

*

*

*

*

¿Que tiene de especial un juego tan viejo?

Si alguna vez lograste jugar Borderlands creo que vas a concordar conmigo sobre lo que voy a decir al respecto de este gran juego. Si bien la gran evolución que ha tenido esta saga ha sido bastante buena y sin duda no han dejado morir al juego, quiero comentarles mi experiencia con Borderlands original, o sea, el primer juego de la saga, y vaya que fue un completo éxito así que espero que con todo lo que les contaré se animen a probarlo y vean lo grandioso que es.

Hace ya algunos años yo estaba muy al pendiente de los juegos al estilo Counter Strike, me gustan mucho los shooter en primera persona, sin embargo no contaba con una muy buena computadora para jugar juegos de gran calidad, entonces descubrí a Borderlands, supe de él por los youtubers que yo más veía en ese entonces, ya que como sabemos Borderlands ha sido un juego de renombre mundial. Cuándo pude verlo quedé enamorado de él, y con ello también mis ganas de jugarlo fueron mucho más intensas y logré descargarlo y probarlo.

No quiero centrar este post en contar detalles específicos del juego, sino que quiero que lean mi experiencia y claramente darles a conocer el primer juego de esta buena saga. Al principio de empezar a jugarlo y mientras veía los videos en YouTube sobre el juego, pude darme cuenta de que sus gráficos no son normales... Tienen algo bastante raro en ellos que lo hacen diferente al resto, es cómo dibujado, ¿verdad? Es una cosa que me gustó bastante, ya que no es lo mismo de siempre, y sinceramente le da el toque personal que Gearbox Software quiso.

Al estar sumergidos en el mundo Pandora, siento una especie de rareza por los paisajes que hay en él, sin duda está muy bien hecho toda su ambientación y hace que cuando estemos disparando cómo locos a todos los enemigos que hay en el mundo, todo combine perfectamente. Además cómo ya les comenté el juego tiene un gran apartado gráfico para haber sido del año 2009 y el toque personal ya mencionado.

Me fijé que a pesar de ser un shooter también tiene toques de ser un juego de RPG, bastante curiosa esta combinación pero me gusta. Al comenzar nuestra historia en un jugador podemos elegir entre cuatro personajes, cada uno siendo totalmente diferente al otro, pero está bien, si me piden que les resuma que tipo de personajes son, pues podríamos decir que no son gran cosa, es casi lo mismo que lo que podríamos encontrar en otro juego. Personalmente me encantó jugar con Brick y Mordecai, el primero es un tanque y se especializa en el combate cuerpo a cuerpo, y el segundo es un cazador o sniper, significa que hace bastante daño a distancia, pero no tiene mucha vida. Los otros dos son Lillith quién es una sirena y ella podríamos decir que es mago, el otro es Roland quién podríamos decir que es support.

Pude darme cuenta de que al comienzo de nuestra historia, todo fue algo bastante lineal y verdaderamente llegué a pensar que el juego no era cómo lo esperaba, un shooter mundo abierto y con algo de "libertad" pero me equivocaba... Al comienzo si parece ser muy lineal y obligado, pero creo que es solo porque estaba empezando apenas la historia del juego, luego pude hacer las misiones tanto primarias como secundarias a mi antojo, y lo que yo haga practicamente ya queda de mi parte elegir qué hacer o qué no hacer. Algo muy importante que me centré en hacer antes de completar algunas misiones o lo que sea es intentar coleccionar bastantes puntos de experiencia, esos son unos puntos que nos dan a la hora de asesinar o hacer daño a cualquier enemigo, y con ello podremos subir de nivel a nuestro personaje y también mejorar algunos aspectos.

Al ser un mundo bastante lleno de fantasía y bichos muy raros, las misiones suelen ser muy buenas y divertidas. Algunas veces nos toca pelear con robots, alienígenas, no sé... Es que realmente no sé identificar que mierda eran XD. Pero es bastante original, no son para nada humanoides nuestros enemigos. Cómo les comenté las misiones son bastante interactivas, creo que esa es la palabra perfecta. No son aburridas y para mi gusto tampoco es para nada repetitivo el juego, al contrario. El juego tiene gran diversidad en lo que a misiones se refiere y nosotros elegimos que hacer y que no.

Algo que quiero les quiero comentar antes que se me olvide es su gran planeta y mapa, el mapa me recuerda bastante a el de por ejemplo algún Far Cry o GTA, sé que no tienen nada que ver, pero al abrirlo podemos observar todos los puntos de interés en el juego, tanta enfermería cómo tiendas de armas, etc. Al ser un mapa tan grande y extenso debemos tener cuidado con los animales que estén por ahí, ya que más de una vez morí por culpa de ellos. Sobre todo los enemigos gigantes. Quiero hacer énfasis en lo mal que lo pasé al comenzar el juego ¿Por qué? Pues al ser nuevo y no haber completado ninguna misión, no tenía acceso a los vehículos del juego y no saben lo molesto que es caminar de un lugar a otro, no recuerdo cuantas misiones tuve hice para desbloquear los vehículos, pero estoy seguro de que fueron muchas.😡

Todos los personajes tanto primarios como secundarios están perfectamente realizados, no llegué a encontrar nada malo en ellos, y su mapa y ambientación es muy parecida a la de una película, estoy seguro de que bastantes personas la conocen, se llama Mad Max. Me recuerda bastante por ser un mundo post-apocalíptico y que de verdad asusta. Su ambientación sonora también es brutal, y no lo digo porque haya grandes músicas a la hora de batallar o hacer cualquier cosa, sino todo lo contrario... Destaca por introducirnos aún más en el papel, ¿A qué me refiero con esto? El juego en bastantes ocasiones nos deja en un tenebroso silencio absoluto. Y de verdad hace que nos metamos más en el papel de un mundo destruido, árido, solitario, sin duda buen trabajo.

Borderlands no es un juego para nada fácil, es completamente difícil y mientras más avancemos peor se pone la cosa... Yo sufrí bastante con algunas misiones, se hacía muy estresante tener que repetirla una y otra vez hasta poder pasarla. Así que si son de ese tipo de personas que aman los juegos fáciles, y solo hay que hacer muy pocas cosas para pasartelo, te recomiendo que no juegues Borderlands.

El juego también cuenta con un modo multijugador o cooperativo, pero les voy a ser sincero... Nunca jugué ese modo porque realmente no me llamaba la atención, pero me arrepiento... Es bastante bueno y divertido por lo que he llegado a ver en algunos videos, así que es otro punto más a favor del porqué Borderlands sigue siendo un gran juego. Muchas gracias por leer hasta aquí, espero te haya gustado mi pequeña experiencia con Borderlands.

Fuente de imágenes:

*

*

*

*

*

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency