Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories - Donkey Kong Country

hivegamingcovercontest.jpg


Hey Hive Gaming community!

This my entry for the Hive Gaming Community Contest, if you want to participate I invite you to read this post. I have a lot of fond gaming memories and I want to share one about Donkey Kong Country.


I invite you to listen to this music while you read the post:


music.gif

src


I was born in 1987, I'm the youngest of all my cousins and I have an older brother. I've been playing video games since I was about three or four years old, I don't remember why I started playing but I know I've always loved video games, they have been a great part of my life. Growing up I played a lot of video games with my older brother Jorge and my cousin Andy (they are almost the same age). We spent many weekends playing all sorts of games: Street Fighter, Final Fantasy, Super Mario Bros, Battle Toads, Resident Evil, Harvest Moon, Tony Hawk, and more. I remember that I once said that my favorite cousins were Andy and Pablo (the eldest of my cousins) just because they had a SNES, I was just kid lol.

snes.gif

src

My parents were not into video games but they supported our hobby so every once in a while they made an effort to buy us a console or game. What we used to do was to exchange the old consoles for new ones. The only time that I saw my father playing videogames was with Dr. Mario, he amazed me and my brother because he was able to beat level 99 of the game, but he stopped playing because his eyes turned red every time.

drmario.gif

src

One of the games that we used to play in Super Nintendo back in the day was Donkey Kong Country. It was a very fun game for us and the great thing about it is that there was multiplayer. One of the players controlled DK and the other controlled Diddy Kong, it was not possible to do it at the same time but it was fun. In this game, we saw a villain turn into a hero. It was the start of a great series of games.

dk.gif

src

The memory that I want to share is this one:

As I was the youngest, my brother and my cousin sometimes teamed up to bully me, it was not something serious and I think that many of the times I deserved it because I also bothered them and drove them crazy.

On the first Donkey Kong Country, there were special levels, like bonus stages where you could win golden animal trophies that as far as I remember could be used as mounts (like the rino that Diddy is mounting on the main image). To win those animal mounts you had to jump and at precise times to choose the animal that you wanted, you had to do this three times and get the same animal in all three. It was not very hard to do because it was slow, but one time my brother and cousin turned off the TV just when I was doing that bonus/secret level and I still managed to get three of the same animals. I was very excited because for me it was a great deed. I left them with a surprise in their faces.

Here is a complete walkthrough that I found on YouTube. At the beginning at the minute 1:45, you can see what I'm talking about.

I have more gaming memories, many are from my teenage years where I used to do LAN parties with my high school friends and we play Halo all night. Some memories are more recent, for almost two and a half years I played Overwatch with a group of friends, that kinda ended when I started blogging here.

Well, that is all for today's post, remember that if you want to participate check out the @hivegc post that I shared in the beginning of the post. Cheers!


Main Image Source edited with https://www.photopea.com/

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions about #HIVE.

image.png

@eddiespino

All contact details are on my link tree: https://linktr.ee/eddiespino

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
65 Comments
Ecency