Does my Limp Bizkit Theory apply to Final Fantasy?

image.png

This is not new for me, but not something I have ever posted here, but I have developed a theory in regards to Limp Bizkit. They have always sucked, but somehow they have just never gone away. Even when not in the mainstream, they have had a bizarrely long career. How can a band that is consistently bad still be here? I believe that Limp Bizkit has the supernatural ability to siphon off the career of other musicians they work with.

I remember Redman being a thing for a while in the more popular consciousness, though that came to an end after he did that one song with Limp Bizkit. Redman didn't go away entirely, but he certainly faded from a lot of people's minds. This was the beginning of Fred Durst's powers, and it would only grow from there. Remember a little band called Staind? Had a big hit with 'It's been a While', and after that, he did a song with Fred Durst. After that the relevance of Stained was dead. The lead singer apparently became a sup-par country singer and got some relevance recently with shitty political music (Seriously, the politics don't matter, this pretty much always comes out fucking awful). Limp Bizkit continued to soldier on.

That said, these were two careers that aren't often big in the mainstream regardless, so maybe this is all just a coincidence, right? Well my friends, in 2002 we had the biggest album of Christina Aguilera's career, Stripped. Multiple huge hits with Dirrty, Fighter, and Beautiful. The girl was on fire here, and with a history dating back even before this, you'd think she could keep going. But then she went on tour with Fred Durst and any kind of relevance she had died. Every so often she comes back featured on someone else song, but she's quickly forgotten about after that. Limp Bizkit continued making music.

There haven't been many notable collaborations with Limp Bizkit for a while, but then came Final Fantasy, where Limp Bizkit starts blaring randomly. Here is the thing, I never considered the ramifications of Fred Durst's powers were they to be applied to something outside of music. He clearly can't retroactively take away from something that is already successful, as Stripped was a success before the work with Limp, so I don't think Final Fantasy XIV is going to get hit by the curse. It is possible that it won't affect the title it's released with, Stranger in Paradise, but what are the possible effects of Final Fantasy XVI?

I did make this theory a joke a few years back, and it amused me. So seeing Limp Bizkit show up in Stranger in Paradise amuses me greatly, and I will laugh my ass off if we do see Final Fantasy start to tank with the next release. I don't want it to, but if you ever see me randomly laughing maniacally at that happening, you will know why.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency